wiring diagram - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > wiring diagram
Cool Brewing Giveaway - Supporting Membership Drive & Discount

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-24-2011, 04:48 AM   #1
fumbles
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Shreveport, LA
Posts: 31



I've started to make my control panel. I'm working mainly from Kal's design, but with less bells and whistles. I'm using the BCS 460 and a single pump. Looking for input on what fuses to use. The selector switches are in the green and blue. They are illuminated but I can't wire them separately for switching and light. So the HLT and Boil can only display the coil circuit status. This should only be an issue if the relay fails. Should be okay; I think? And I plan to make the SSRs a second safety with programming since I'm not using the 3-selector. I was thinking that if I insulate the HLT. I could reduce the heating element wattage and run both elements. Or have one heating element to heat to strike and another to maintain while sparging. The blue switch/light will be wired in series with the pump. I don't have grounds or a netural to pump or power to the BCS shown. I haven't got a good way to power the BCS. I'm looking for a single plug outlet that I could mount inside with no luck so far.
http://i1094.photobucket.com/albums/...iring-ver1.jpg
Would love to get some feedback on things
Did I forget about something?



 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 01:49 PM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,982
Liked 99 Times on 88 Posts


What is your power source for this? 30A? 50A?


__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 12:59 AM   #3
fumbles
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Shreveport, LA
Posts: 31


40A so I couldn't run two 5500W elements at the same time

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 01:06 AM   #4
milldoggy
Recipes 
 
Mar 2008
Pottstown, Pa
Posts: 2,294
Liked 111 Times on 84 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by fumbles
40A so I couldn't run two 5500W elements at the same time
No, two 5500 watt elements at ~240 pulls like 48 amps. I did not do the math, might be like 46.
__________________
My E-Herms

My hop stopper

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 01:45 AM   #5
Lucky_Chicken
Recipes 
 
Jul 2011
Bloomfield, IA
Posts: 795
Liked 37 Times on 27 Posts


i did the math 45.8333333

yea im a nerd... i was looking at this today... i am wanting to power 2 elements per pot... 4 total and power them both at the same time... i will need to pull 100A line into the box... im gona need a bigger box then i can put breakers on each element... might be an option for you? or are you running off a dryer plug/ not want to run a dedicated line?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 03:23 AM   #6
fumbles
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Shreveport, LA
Posts: 31


I'm in an apartment using a range outlet

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 01:39 PM   #7
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,982
Liked 99 Times on 88 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by fumbles View Post
I'm in an apartment using a range outlet
fumbles: if you are on 40A and want to run two kettles at the same time, you are going to have to keep total power at 9000W or less, and you can't really power anything else except the elements unless you drop down further.

9000W will pull 37.5A when both elements are running ... IF you actually have 240V available.

240V is not a guarantee. It could be higher or lower than this, which is going to affect the amount of current you pull.

If you are only getting 220V instead of 240V, then a "4500W/240V" element (for example) is really only acting as a 3780W element and will pull 17.2A... so two of those will pull 34.4A and your 40A breaker would handle things fine.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 04:25 AM   #8
fumbles
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Shreveport, LA
Posts: 31


"I plan to make the SSRs a second safety with programming since I'm not using the 3-selector" The primary safety being don't turn them both on.
Can I not do this? Program the BCS where it does not allow both to be on at once?

Should I wire my indicator lights to the coil loop or on output that goes to the elements. I'm using incandescent lights so the constant switching done by the SSRs could burn them out quickly. However, I'd like to see if the element is actively heating. What are people doing? Should I have gone for LEDs instead?

Which fuses can I use for the march 809? slow blow? I couldn't find data on the insush current.

pictures of current progress
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21491289/wiring-ver1.jpg
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21491289/IMG_6468.JPG
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21491289/IMG_6460.JPG
http://dl.dropbox.com/u/21491289/IMG_6459.JPG

thanks for the responses

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 04:43 AM   #9
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,407
Liked 991 Times on 668 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by fumbles
Should I have gone for LEDs instead?

I did. LED, resistor, diode or two. You can monitor for cheap.

Which fuses can I use for the march 809? slow blow? I couldn't find data on the insush current.

I never understood the fusing issue. Fuse it for the wire. Did your pump come with a cord/plug? If so fuse it at 20A. The motor should have built in thermal protection. My (not March) does.
.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2011, 08:15 AM   #10
ashton
Recipes 
 
May 2011
San Diego, CA
Posts: 23
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts


I don't have a code book on me right this second, but I believe for Inrush current you only need to upsize your breaker by 125%, you can also get time delay breakers that will consider inrush because theyre meant for motors. I think your bigger problem is going to be where to get 100 amps unless you live in a Fresh Prince ass house.

As far as making a safety so you can't turn two things on at once, wire your first load in series with a Normally Closed contact on your second Control Relay. Wire your second load in series with a Normally Closed contact on your first relay. When CR1 coil is energized it'll open up that contact and you won't be able to turn the second load on no matter how hard you push the button!



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking for a wiring diagram for a EHLT Brefus Electric Brewing 1 08-09-2011 12:47 PM
Input on Wiring Diagram ders Electric Brewing 45 05-25-2011 05:55 PM
Little confused about SSR Wiring diagram HossTheGreat Electric Brewing 9 02-11-2011 10:34 PM
Wiring diagram workable? Control box TheSlash Electric Brewing 2 02-10-2011 08:54 PM
Wiring diagram advice frank551 Electric Brewing 6 10-19-2010 01:56 PM


Forum Jump