Keg Connection New Inline Flow Control Valve Giveaway

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Beer Tastes Off
Old 08-19-2011, 01:50 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Beer Tastes Off

Hi Everyone,

About a month ago I started brewing beer again after taking a few years off. I had previously brewed 2 batches before I had to take a break from the hobby.

To start back up I picked up an American Pale Ale kit from Weak Knee Homebrew in Pottstown, PA. I can post the specifics of the recipe later if that would help.

I left the wort in the glass carboy fermeter for two weeks before bottling and it has been in the bottle for about 3 weeks. I have taken a bottle and tasted it about once a week. After the first week the beer had a strong sweetness to it which I figured was just the 'greenness' of it. The second week the sweet flavor diminished a bit, and trying it again last night I noticed little to no difference in the flavor from the week before. Aside from the sweet taste there is little to no hop flavor in the beer.

The beer is still drinkable, which is a good thing, just not tasting as good as I had hoped or expected.

The one thing that I look back on and know I should have done differently was that I tied the hop and barley bags pretty tight which reduced their surface area and probably the infusion into the wort.

Am I stuck with a sweet, flavorless beer or is there hope that after a few more weeks in the bottle things might get better?

I am already itching to brew again and hopefully improve over this batch so I guess that is one good thing to come out of this rebirth into homebrewing.

Old 08-19-2011, 01:54 PM   #2
Post Hoc Ergo Propter Hoc
Liked 2899 Times on 1708 Posts
Likes Given: 3528

Give it a couple more weeks and see if the flavor doesn't finally "pop." Some beers can take 6 weeks or so to truly develop.