Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 120v/3000w Heating Element
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2011, 05:12 AM   #1
TravelingBrewer22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 288
Default 120v/3000w Heating Element

What do you guys think the boil time would be using a 120v/3000w heating element for 5 gal batches? 10 gal? Thanks for the help!


TravelingBrewer22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 07:22 AM   #2
biggc1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 29
Likes Given: 2

Default

Max element size on 120 is gonna be 2000w.


biggc1 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 02:32 PM   #3
TravelingBrewer22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 288
Default

check this out. is this wrong?

http://www.comfortgurus.com/product_...oducts_id/7096
TravelingBrewer22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 02:38 PM   #4
seabass07
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Brothell
Posts: 1,250
Liked 120 Times on 91 Posts
Likes Given: 72

Default

They may make higher wattage 120V elements, but you will need a 30amp GFCI outlet. Most GFCI outlets are only 20 amp which maxes us out at 2000 watts.
seabass07 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 05:58 PM   #5
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,244
Liked 97 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TravelingBrewer22 View Post
What do you guys think the boil time would be using a 120v/3000w heating element for 5 gal batches? 10 gal? Thanks for the help!
Back to your original question.


5 gallon batch - assuming you start with 6 gallons in the kettle and wort temp is 165*F - will need just under 15-20 minutes to come to a boil

10 gallon batch - assuming you start with 11 gallons in the kettle and wort temp is 165*F - will need just around 30 minutes to come to a boil
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 06:21 PM   #6
Cpt_Kirks
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Lakeland TN
Posts: 3,746
Liked 46 Times on 40 Posts

Default

The picture indicated shows 240V/4500w, so I would say it's wrong:

Cpt_Kirks is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 06:47 PM   #7
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,244
Liked 97 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

They are using/re-using a small set of images for multiple elements. Even their 120V/200W element uses that 240V/4500W element.

I think they just have ONE picture of a copper element and just use it everywhere.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 09:36 PM   #8
TravelingBrewer22
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Rockford, IL
Posts: 288
Default

So if I can get a 10 gallon batch to boil in 30 min with a 120/3000 why do most guys, when moving to electric, go with the 240/5500?
TravelingBrewer22 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 10:53 PM   #9
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,244
Liked 97 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TravelingBrewer22
So if I can get a 10 gallon batch to boil in 30 min with a 120/3000 why do most guys, when moving to electric, go with the 240/5500?
Because a 3000W/120V element will need a dedicated 30A circuit to operate. Most houses have only 10,15, or 20A circuits for their 120V wiring.

I have exactly zero 120V breakers over 20A in my house.

I would need an electrician to come in and do work on my house for me to be able to use that element.... and if I am going to pay an electrician for work, I am going to just have him install 240V and 30A or 50A, which let's me use a 5500W element.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 11:00 PM   #10
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,244
Liked 97 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

In other words... I would be utterly shocked if you have a place in your house where you could plug that element in.


__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My Super Mini Single Element 120V ULC (ultra low cost) Electric Setup ryclo Electric Brewing 28 07-20-2011 01:36 AM
Switch for running element at 120v OR 240V? thelorax121 Electric Brewing 14 05-10-2011 11:37 PM
Best Low Density 120V Element? slickfish Electric Brewing 2 03-14-2011 01:05 PM
heating element and regular 120V house outlet iamatuna Electric Brewing 4 03-11-2011 02:35 PM
120v on 220v element? hatrickwah Electric Brewing 34 03-07-2011 09:14 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS