Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Controlling 2 240VAC elements
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-18-2011, 04:25 PM   #11
Bsquared
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bsquared's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,830
Liked 58 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

I was looking at android tablets, too. looks like you can get a new one for 100+

Hmmmm.


Bsquared is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 04:30 PM   #12
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 292 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bsquared View Post
How important do you think the individual breakers are in the DIN rail? I have a 30A GFI cord that will power the whole system?

Right now, the only protection I have for the 120VAC components is a 7A fuse as shown on Kal's set up. I like the idea of individual breaker's though. I will have quite a few pumps on my set-up, so it might be nice to have them isolated on individual breakers. (mash-recirculating, HLT transfer, HLT-recirculating, and chill water recirculation).

PJ, have you looked into adding a touchscreen to the BCS control panel ? for right now I plan on using an old iPod touch through my wireless router I have it hooked up to. but eventually id like to have a stand alone touchscreen integrated in to it.
I just finished a modified diagram that might fit your needs a little better. It shows the setup for a 30A feed and eliminates the breakers.

(As always - click on the image to see a full scale diagram that is printable on Tabloid paper 11" x 17")



P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2011, 04:43 PM   #13
Bsquared
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bsquared's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,830
Liked 58 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

Thanks P-J, that is much cleaner of a diagram than the one I drew up. Makes me feel good that what I drew up was some what similar, but I like the added safety features on yours like the E-stop and the individual in-line fuses.

I'm going to put a door switch on mine as well, that will kill all power in the event the door opens when the system is on. I'll have a toddler brewing assistant in a few months now. he is all ready a dare devil at 4 months, can't imaging what he is going to get into at 18 months.

like they say in Baja "safety first!"
Bsquared is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 02:16 AM   #14
Bsquared
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bsquared's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,830
Liked 58 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default problem will this work?

Okay...I'm a F'n Idiot... I got super excited when I found this an pulled the trigger. It got here on Friday and I realize its a 3 wire 240VAC cord! So here I what I am thinking of doing, you guys with more electrical experience tell me is it will not work.

I will cut the plug portion of the cord off and connect it to a four wire dryer plug, the too hot leads and use the Ground/neutral from the cord as the neutral on the four wire plug and the L18-30A locking connector I have to go in to the Control panel. for the ground I will connect an external insulated wire from the plug to the L18 connector, and tape it to the cord.

this will plug in to my standard 4 wire dryer outlet...

If not I will just get a spa GCFI like has been gone over really thoroughly by walker and P-J...

Thanks again for your help guys I get you a beer in Seattle 2012...
Bsquared is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 02:31 AM   #15
EFaden
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 546
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bsquared View Post
Okay...I'm a F'n Idiot... I got super excited when I found this an pulled the trigger. It got here on Friday and I realize its a 3 wire 240VAC cord! So here I what I am thinking of doing, you guys with more electrical experience tell me is it will not work.

I will cut the plug portion of the cord off and connect it to a four wire dryer plug, the too hot leads and use the Ground/neutral from the cord as the neutral on the four wire plug and the L18-30A locking connector I have to go in to the Control panel. for the ground I will connect an external insulated wire from the plug to the L18 connector, and tape it to the cord.

this will plug in to my standard 4 wire dryer outlet...

If not I will just get a spa GCFI like has been gone over really thoroughly by walker and P-J...

Thanks again for your help guys I get you a beer in Seattle 2012...
Will it work?... it "should". But I'm not sure how kosher it is to run the grounding pin separately.
__________________
-Eric
EFaden is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 02:51 AM   #16
Bsquared
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bsquared's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: San Diego
Posts: 1,830
Liked 58 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 22

Default

I'm not sure how separate it will be, the outlet it will be plugging into will be grounded to the service panel for the house. Only the grounding wire will run on the outside of the GCFI cord connecting the dryer outlet to the control panel, making a four wire power cord out of a three wire cord.
Bsquared is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2011, 09:27 AM   #17
EFaden
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rochester, New York
Posts: 546
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bsquared View Post
I'm not sure how separate it will be, the outlet it will be plugging into will be grounded to the service panel for the house. Only the grounding wire will run on the outside of the GCFI cord connecting the dryer outlet to the control panel, making a four wire power cord out of a three wire cord.
Should be fine then.


__________________
-Eric
EFaden is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
240VAC Toolbox Control Panel with Pics passedpawn Electric Brewing 104 01-05-2012 04:15 AM
I've been using HWD Elements for a while now. p-nut Electric Brewing 18 05-04-2011 07:53 PM
One PID, Two Elements? Rondacker Electric Brewing 4 05-03-2011 12:37 AM
Two Elements - 30A? aludwig Electric Brewing 15 04-06-2011 04:51 PM
Do elements HAVE to be LD/ULD? mattd2 Electric Brewing 27 12-13-2010 11:57 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS