EBay fish tank controller build using Wal-mart parts - Page 10 - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > EBay fish tank controller build using Wal-mart parts

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2012, 04:49 PM   #91
BraxtonBrewery
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
Posts: 109
Liked 7 Times on 4 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Misplaced_Canuck View Post
That's the STC-1000. That's the right one.

MC
Any idea why it wont stay even remotely close to the set temp? Ive used it on 2 different refrigerators, I cant seem to get it to work properly. I have gotten some advice but none of it has really led me in the right direction.


__________________
Braxton Brewery

Primary:

Secondary:
Northern English Brown Ale

On Tap:
Simarillo Wheat 300
Simarillo Wheat 1010
Smokey The Bear (Smoked Vanilla Porter)
Apfelwein
Cream Ale
Amber Lager

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 05:04 PM   #92
JuanMoore
Recipes 
 
Oct 2009
The Old Pueblo
Posts: 21,631
Liked 3656 Times on 3480 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by BraxtonBrewery View Post
Any idea why it wont stay even remotely close to the set temp? Ive used it on 2 different refrigerators, I cant seem to get it to work properly. I have gotten some advice but none of it has really led me in the right direction.
Based on your posts in other threads I'd say you have the 220v controller. You can check to see what voltage it was built for by taking the case off and looking at the transformer. What voltage is the unit plugged into?



 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 05:08 PM   #93
chairbornrangerx
Recipes 
 
Mar 2011
kalamazoo, MI
Posts: 70
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


do you have the probe submersed in for example a cup of water inside the fridge?
__________________
Primary: Oktoberfest, Oberon Clone
secondary: none
Bottled: Honey Weizen, Dark Wheat, Porter, Face Puncher IPA, Hard Cider, Zombie Dust Clone, Double Chocolate Stout

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 05:31 PM   #94
Huaco
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Huaco's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2011
Just south of Cow Town, Tx
Posts: 1,375
Liked 141 Times on 88 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by BraxtonBrewery View Post
I have seen some say 220 and they are the correct one. I believe mine does but it is a STC1000 so it should be the correct one.
If that wiring diagram states 220V input, then it is PROBABLY a 220V controller.
There is a guy on here that figured out how to change the transformers out on these things... may look it up.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 06:02 PM   #95
SmokingDog
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Sheboygan, WI
Posts: 126
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Hmmm, a number of auctions on ebay read:

Power Supply: 220 ~ 240V AC 10% or 100 ~ 120 V AC, 50 / 60 Hz

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 06:16 PM   #96
JuanMoore
Recipes 
 
Oct 2009
The Old Pueblo
Posts: 21,631
Liked 3656 Times on 3480 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by JonesCreek
Hmmm, a number of auctions on ebay read:

Power Supply: 220 ~ 240V AC 10% or 100 ~ 120 V AC, 50 / 60 Hz
It's two different models. Most of the sellers send the voltage of the country it's being shipped to, but some require that you request which one you want, and some screw up and send the wrong one occasionally.
__________________
I'm trying to find some porn filmed by a dog wearing a GoPro. - SharonaZamboni

Hunter, when you get bored, will you put a taco in my elephant's hands for me? - Hat

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 06:53 PM   #97
wandering
Recipes 
 
Jan 2012
Vancouver, BC
Posts: 27

Quote:
Originally Posted by JuanMoore View Post
Based on your posts in other threads I'd say you have the 220v controller.
If a 220VAC model were used on a 110VAC circuit, you would think that the display itself would either not light up at all, be very dim or have random displays... but that was not mentioned his other thread.

BraxtonBrewery, did you test the controller with, say, a lamp instead of a fridge (on the cooling output)? I would set F1 cooling temp to roughly a couple of degrees above room temperature then heat the probe with a hairdryer to see if the lamp comes on (and whether the lamp is at the usual brightness).

Once the lamp comes on, use an ice cube or cold water to quickly cool the prob to verify that the lamp turns off F2 degrees below F1. Then quickly reheat the probe again to verify that the fridge won't be turned before the F3 (compressor delay value of the default 3 minutes).

(Don't forget to reset F1 to desired fridge temp and turn fridge's internal setting to high.) If the lamp tests work but the fridges fail, I would verify that the compressor isn't overheating (from begin turned on too frequently).

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:21 PM   #98
Misplaced_Canuck
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Misplaced_Canuck's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
NE Columbia SC - Formerly, Montreal Canada
Posts: 2,882
Liked 164 Times on 133 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by wandering View Post
If a 220VAC model were used on a 110VAC circuit, you would think that the display itself would either not light up at all, be very dim or have random displays... but that was not mentioned his other thread.
Actually the 220V model's display will work, but the relays won't activate.

To the guy with the problem, test the unit with a lamp, a cell phone charger with an LED, etc.

MC
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misplaced_Canuck
Carbonic bite? Is that like the bubonic plague?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebstauffer
Needless to say after more than a few drams my mental efficiency matched my mashing efficiency.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 07:48 PM   #99
jeepinjeepin
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 6,410
Liked 1046 Times on 1025 Posts


I started to wire mine up last night but ran into a snag. The wire clamps on the heating and cooling circuits are fixed closed. It almost seems like they weren't made correctly or got solder in them during assembly. I have emailed the seller, and got a response requesting photos. I am waiting to hear back from them before I tear into it and desolder those terminals.
__________________
Walmart is about the only reason for open or concealed carry that I can get behind. -Randar

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2012, 09:02 PM   #100
Misplaced_Canuck
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Misplaced_Canuck's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
NE Columbia SC - Formerly, Montreal Canada
Posts: 2,882
Liked 164 Times on 133 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by jeepinjeepin View Post
I started to wire mine up last night but ran into a snag. The wire clamps on the heating and cooling circuits are fixed closed. It almost seems like they weren't made correctly or got solder in them during assembly. I have emailed the seller, and got a response requesting photos. I am waiting to hear back from them before I tear into it and desolder those terminals.
That's strange. Mine were tight and required some torque but I got them loose with a small-medium flat screwdriver.

MC


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Misplaced_Canuck
Carbonic bite? Is that like the bubonic plague?
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebstauffer
Needless to say after more than a few drams my mental efficiency matched my mashing efficiency.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ebay aquarium temp controller build android Fermenters 4126 08-02-2015 05:45 AM
Plastic-Mart $135 15 Gallon Conical Tank & Stand rkulp89 Fermenters 17 02-11-2012 11:22 AM
Cheap temp controller on eBay Bartp Fermenters 1 02-01-2011 01:54 PM
Control 12V w/ Ebay Aquarium Controller? autobaun70 Fermenters 5 01-27-2011 03:23 PM
Anyone use this temp controller off ebay? Mongo64 DIY Projects 27 05-07-2010 08:58 PM


Forum Jump