Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing > Pre Boil Gravity vs Post Boil Gravity

Old 08-06-2011, 03:55 PM   #1
mcurtis431
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Pre Boil Gravity vs Post Boil Gravity

I am a little confused. I am very new to AG brewing. My first batch was an American IPA with a target OG of 1.062. I used Beer Smith to help create the recipe. After I mashed and sparged I took a gravity reading of the pre-boil and it was around 1.04ish. Beer smith uses this number to caSculate the extraction efficiency. Using this number gave me a terrible efficiency result. However, when I boiled down to my target volume my gravity was much closer to the target 1.062, thus bumping my efficiency up.

My question is, which reading do you use to calculate your efficiency? It doesn't make sense to me to use the pre-boil reading since this is not the volume you will be fermenting at. When designing a recipe, which gravity reading should I use as my OG?

I have yet to read a clear answer.....

Old 08-06-2011, 04:08 PM   #2
TheBrewinator
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 

Liked 15 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 7

I take a pre-boil gravity to determine my efficiency. You have X gallons at Y gravity and compare it to the max theoretical extraction you could get from your grain bill. I would guess you didn't adjust your volume for your pre-boil gravity so you were calculating your efficiency on your final recipe volume coming in at 1.040 vs 1.062.

The OG is what you have post boil in your final volume of wort that goes into your fermenter.

Old 08-06-2011, 04:09 PM   #3
usfmikeb
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 235 Times on 200 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Pre and post boil should yield the same efficiency, since there's no change in the amount of sugar in the wort, just in the amount of water.

Old 08-06-2011, 04:14 PM   #4
usfmikeb
Recipes