Freezer Setting w/ A419 Control - Max., Min., Middle? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Equipment/Sanitation > Freezer Setting w/ A419 Control - Max., Min., Middle?

Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2011, 08:05 PM   #1
Apr 2011
Yakima, WA
Posts: 179
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

I just hooked up my Johnson A419 to my chest freezer yesterday for a Scottish Ale I'm brewing. Seems to be working well taped to the side of the carboy with a gel pack and bubble wrap on top of that but I was wondering if it matters to have the freezer set to the maximum cold setting, minimum, or in between?

My target fermentation temperature is 64, I have my freezer turned to 6 (the maximum setting) and my A419 settings are as follows:

SP = 65
Diff = 1
ASP = 12

Even though the differential is set to 1 it doesn't actually cut out until the temperature difference is greater than 1 degree so it cuts out at 63.99 (I guess?) but at that point my probe temp will continue to drop until it eventually reads 62 where it sits for an hour or so before climbing back up to 63. It stays at 63 for another hour or so and slowly climbs up to 64 where it sits for another hour or so, etc.

64 is the minimum recommended temperature for my Wyeast 1098 so I'm a bit worried about it dropping down to 62 although I really don't think 1 or 2 degrees will have any significant difference other than fermentation might take a bit longer to complete but I'm not worried about that.

Do you guys who have used temp. control units set your freezer to the maximum setting? I'm thinking if I turn it down maybe the temp. won't drop down to 62 after the cut out point. Or will it matter?

Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 08:50 PM   #2
Senior Member
Hammy71's Avatar
Sep 2008
, Maryland, The Tax Me State
Posts: 5,889
Liked 529 Times on 402 Posts

I have mine set for max. Not sure if it will matter.

Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 08:53 PM   #3
Jan 2009
Posts: 4,998
Liked 70 Times on 63 Posts

It doesn't matter so long as it's on. I set mine on max as I see no reason not to do so. The controller takes it from there.

Those minor temp fluctuations won't do any harm to your beer. You could improve the performance if you installed a computer fan in the freezer to circulate the air. IME, that makes a tremendous difference.

Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 09:54 PM   #4
Brewskii's Avatar
May 2011
Williamsburg, Va
Posts: 1,153
Liked 127 Times on 68 Posts

+1 don't matter

Freezer compressor is either running or not . There is no difference between high or low since you are running it with your temp controller the thermostat on the freezer never gets to a temperature where it would come into play.
Still, I would put it on high to be sure there is no time it won't run if your a419 tells it to.

Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 05:24 AM   #5
Mar 2009
Newbury Park, CA
Posts: 1,649
Liked 37 Times on 33 Posts

Set the freezer to max. I have the controller set to cut in. That way i set the temperature one degree above what my desired fermentation temp is and set the dif to 1. This makes it so as my fermentation raises 1 degree it kicks on the freezer. Seems to keep better control than doing it the other way (cut out)

Reply With Quote
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Johnson A419, Freezer and Thermowell Help schweaty Equipment/Sanitation 23 01-09-2016 08:18 PM
Johnson A419 controller - question about setting temp. shanecb Equipment/Sanitation 9 07-09-2011 03:32 PM
Johnson Controls Digital Thermostat Control Unit A419 question JasonToews Equipment/Sanitation 1 06-20-2011 01:25 AM
A419 Temp probe location in Chest Freezer? alexavery Equipment/Sanitation 7 01-24-2011 07:28 PM
Process Control - Manually setting PID Yorg Equipment/Sanitation 5 11-11-2008 08:27 PM

Forum Jump