Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > How to get a compressor to run just on dc
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-24-2011, 02:13 PM   #1
AJC16
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 175
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default How to get a compressor to run just on dc

I planned on using an old dehumidifier for a fermentation chamber but something happened and it says that the bucket is full and the compressor wont turn on, I do not want to spend money on parts to try to fix it, so is there a way I can just bypass the electronics and get the compressor to kick on just using dc? The cable coming from the compressor has a red, black and blue wire. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks!


AJC16 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 02:19 PM   #2
TXCrash
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
TXCrash's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: DFW
Posts: 19,580
Liked 2859 Times on 2797 Posts
Likes Given: 117

Default

Most consumer electronics have a wiring diagram on one of the service panels. Consult that.

DC is direct current, which indicates that one leg is always positive, one is always negative. Household current is AC - alternating current. If you aren't comfortable working with electricity it can kick your butt.


TXCrash is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 03:15 PM   #3
bad coffee
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
bad coffee's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 4,717
Liked 438 Times on 433 Posts
Likes Given: 48

Default

You'll have to change the motor to a DC one if you want to use it on DC.

If it says the bucket is full, there's a float switch problem. Just bypass/disconnect the float switch.

If you don't know what you're doing, find someone who does. Electricity + Water can kill you pretty quickly.



B
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GilaMinumBeer
Why do you think they choose that path? (.)(.) = $$$$$$$$$
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuljin View Post
Wtf was chasing you for an hour? Buy a gun already.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZ_IPA View Post
I'm a meat hunter. PKU.
bad coffee is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 03:18 PM   #4
Hermit
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alternate Universe
Posts: 2,259
Liked 68 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

There is some kind of float mechanism that activates a switch to tell it the bucket is full. Just poke around until you find it. It is probably stuck. If not, take the wires off the switch and see if that works. If not, put the wires together and try that. One or the other should work. Just depends on how it was set up. My guess is you will have to put the wires together, but that is simply a guess.
Hermit is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 03:34 PM   #5
AJC16
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 175
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Putting the two switch wires together took care of the problem thanks!
AJC16 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2011, 03:39 PM   #6
Hermit
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Alternate Universe
Posts: 2,259
Liked 68 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AJC16 View Post
Putting the two switch wires together took care of the problem thanks!
If you are going to run it this way and not replace the switch, cut the terminals off of the wire and strip it back and then wrap it together to make a solid connection. Otherwise, you may risk having the terminals start arcing and you could have other problems in the future.
Hermit is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 04:01 AM   #7
ajdelange
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: McLean/Ogden, Virginia/Quebec
Posts: 7,591
Liked 993 Times on 789 Posts
Likes Given: 28

Default

So how do you turn this thing off? What I'm getting at is that I assume you are going to kluge the evaporator into some sort of insulated box the temperature of which you want to regulate. The contact pair you just removed could be replaced with a thermostat or a pair of relay contacts controlled by a thermostat to turn the compressor off when the desired temperature is reached.
ajdelange is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 01:20 AM   #8
porcupine73
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Fort Meade
Posts: 811
Liked 47 Times on 43 Posts
Likes Given: 513

Default

Yes just look for where the float switch connects, you can probably cut/short out the connection as needed.

Dehumidiers are _not_ a good choice for a ferm chamber unless you're going to relocate the condenser, because else their net effect is to heat the air that passes over the condenser and evaporator.

To go to DC could be simple - or impossible. Some appliances use universal wound motors, and those will run on DC as well as AC! But usually a refrigeration compressor is integral with the motor, so if it's not universal wound, basically forget it, you can't do it.


porcupine73 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS