Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Fermentation & Yeast > What temp do you set your ferm chamber to ?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-20-2011, 07:10 PM   #1
Toecutter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Riverside, ca
Posts: 600
Liked 12 Times on 8 Posts

Default What temp do you set your ferm chamber to ?

I'm using a converted chest keezer with a Ranco temp control. Just wondering what temp setting you are all using ?? I know it varies based on yeast, I mostly brew ales so I shoot for around 65 dg. +/-

Question is, I know fermentation will raise the internal temp of the ferm bucket/carboy. Ranco probe measures temp inside the keezer.

Do you lower your keezer internal temp to compensate for the raised temps of the fermentation

Just wondering what everyone is doing.
Thanks


__________________
When a naked man is chasing a naked woman through an alley with a butcher knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - Dirty Harry

On Tap: Belgian Orange Crystalweizen, Toecutters Honey HPA

Fermenting: Belgian Orange Crystalweizen
Toecutter is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 07:14 PM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,244
Liked 97 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

tape the probe to the side of your most active fermenter. that gets a better reading that air without having to be invasive and putting the thing into the fermenter directly.

I set my chamber at about 66*F and do the taped-on thing.


__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 07:14 PM   #3
tesilential
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 308
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

This question gets asked almost daily.

Set it to 60 with 5 degree differential to keep wort at 65.

You MUST have a stick on thermometer on EVERY bucket/carboy or else you will never know the real temperature.
tesilential is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 07:37 PM   #4
Hammy71
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Hammy71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: , Maryland, The Tax Me State
Posts: 5,796
Liked 477 Times on 365 Posts
Likes Given: 743

Default

Depends on the yeast. I normally ferment at the mid or low range that the yeast requires. Usually that is in the mid 60s. My fridge Ranco is set with 1 deg differential with the probe taped to the carboy. If I want to ferment at 68, I don't want the wort to ferment at 73 or 63. It may be hard on the compressor, but I paid 25 bucks for the fridge, so no loss to me really and well worth the consistent results. I have stick on thermometers on my carboys. Sometimes the fermentation temp is higher than what the Ranco actually says, so yes, I sometimes have to compensate by raising the Ranco 1-2 degrees above what I actally want to ferment at.
Hammy71 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 08:12 PM   #5
tesilential
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 308
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hammy71
Depends on the yeast. I normally ferment at the mid or low range that the yeast requires. Usually that is in the mid 60s. My fridge Ranco is set with 1 deg differential with the probe taped to the carboy. If I want to ferment at 68, I don't want the wort to ferment at 73 or 63. It may be hard on the compressor, but I paid 25 bucks for the fridge, so no loss to me really and well worth the consistent results. I have stick on thermometers on my carboys. Sometimes the fermentation temp is higher than what the Ranco actually says, so yes, I sometimes have to compensate by raising the Ranco 1-2 degrees above what I actally want to ferment at.
If you do what I posted above you, the fermenter will stay at 65*. The air in the freezer swings much quicker than the wort.

In fact, your way swings more than mine since by default your wort must reach 69 for the fridge to kick in and lower it back down to 68. Mine would stay at 68 the entire time while the air temp would swing from 63-68.
tesilential is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 09:49 PM   #6
bwarbiany
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
bwarbiany's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Laguna Hills, CA
Posts: 2,308
Liked 891 Times on 506 Posts
Likes Given: 13

Default

I used to tape the probe to the side of my fermenter (insulated from the air temp with paper towels), and would typically try to set it ~1 degree cooler than necessary.

Now that I have this, I just set it to my desired fermentation temp.
bwarbiany is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2011, 09:51 PM   #7
EdWort
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
EdWort's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Bee Cave, Texas
Posts: 11,969
Liked 309 Times on 160 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker View Post
tape the probe to the side of your most active fermenter. that gets a better reading that air without having to be invasive and putting the thing into the fermenter directly.

I set my chamber at about 66*F and do the taped-on thing.
+1 This method works great and will compensate pretty well for the heat generated by the fermentation process.
EdWort is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 03:42 AM   #8
Toecutter
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Riverside, ca
Posts: 600
Liked 12 Times on 8 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker View Post
tape the probe to the side of your most active fermenter. that gets a better reading that air without having to be invasive and putting the thing into the fermenter directly.

I set my chamber at about 66*F and do the taped-on thing.
thats actually what i have been doing, I was just looking for opinions, so i looks like i'm doing it right.

I actually just installed a 2nd Ranco dedicated to the ferm chamber. I have 2 keezers, 1 I use to store and condition the cornies. i was shutting it down, and moving the probe to the ferm keezer when brewing. Once i forgot to move the probe, and a batch got away from and me and the ferm temps got way out of hand. problem fixed now with the 2nd Ranco.


__________________
When a naked man is chasing a naked woman through an alley with a butcher knife and a hard-on, I figure he isn't out collecting for the Red Cross." - Dirty Harry

On Tap: Belgian Orange Crystalweizen, Toecutters Honey HPA

Fermenting: Belgian Orange Crystalweizen
Toecutter is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ferm chamber question elproducto Fermentation & Yeast 5 04-04-2011 02:26 PM
Ferm Temp shibbypwn Fermentation & Yeast 7 03-22-2011 07:20 PM
Sanyo 4912 for Ferm Chamber and Kegerator dgoldb1 Fermentation & Yeast 5 01-11-2011 08:16 PM
New A/C unit in ferm chamber, keeping at 64^F ThreeTaps Fermentation & Yeast 3 06-14-2010 06:28 PM
My ferm chamber is now a kegerator, what to do? shildebr Fermentation & Yeast 7 09-17-2009 02:23 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS