PID for BK: Yes/No? - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > PID for BK: Yes/No?
Cool Brewing Giveaway - Supporting Membership Drive & Discount

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-15-2011, 03:20 AM   #1
Eighty2Fifty1
Recipes 
 
Jun 2011
Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 129
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts



I'm in the designing process of an electric Kal-type setup, but I'd like to make mine a little simpler. My question is, do I need to use a PID to control the element in the boil kettle, and if not, what other control options are out there? I was thinking that I could set up some sort of electric range-type to make it work (rheostat or whatever they are), since it doesn't seem like precise temp control is that necessary. Not that PID's are that expensive, but I'm curious about my options.

I'm planning a single PID for the HLT, and probably just a dial thermometer for the MLT, however we all know how the plan goes out the window after a homebrew or 7...


__________________
Beer is not the answer. Beer is the question. Yes is the answer.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 03:22 AM   #2
Yuri_Rage
Gritty.
HBT_MODERATOR.png
 
Yuri_Rage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2006
Southwest
Posts: 14,238
Liked 780 Times on 497 Posts


You don't need PID for the boil. Full heat until the boil, then throttle back to a duty cycle that maintains it. No need to worry about overshoots...it's boiling!


__________________
Homebrewed Blog..........YouTube Channel .......... Shirts, posters, etc

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 03:37 AM   #3
samc
Recipes 
 
Aug 2008
Portland OR
Posts: 5,373
Liked 62 Times on 58 Posts


You don't need it, but it's nice to have as a redundant backup if and when you need an alternate brewing set up. For example you suddenly get the urge to come to the dark side and BIAB !

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 03:44 AM   #4
Eighty2Fifty1
Recipes 
 
Jun 2011
Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 129
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts


http://www.amazon.com/General-Electr.../dp/B00308OUXW

Something along the lines of this? Of course I'll have to find one with the proper rating and all that.
__________________
Beer is not the answer. Beer is the question. Yes is the answer.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 03:45 AM   #5
Eighty2Fifty1
Recipes 
 
Jun 2011
Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 129
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by samc View Post
You don't need it, but it's nice to have as a redundant backup if and when you need an alternate brewing set up. For example you suddenly get the urge to come to the dark side and BIAB !
Don't tell anyone, but I'm still an extract brewer
__________________
Beer is not the answer. Beer is the question. Yes is the answer.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 03:50 AM   #6
Eighty2Fifty1
Recipes 
 
Jun 2011
Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 129
Liked 9 Times on 7 Posts


Or use the same PID to control both, just like in the thread below this one...
__________________
Beer is not the answer. Beer is the question. Yes is the answer.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 12:57 PM   #7
wyzazz
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,252
Liked 52 Times on 49 Posts


You can use a PID with Manual Mode (Like the Auber PID's) that will allow you to set the duty cycle of the element to a percentage or you can use a PWM to control it. Both require an SSR to drive the element with the proper voltage and to be honest when it's all said and done the PID is only around $25.00 more if you build the PWM yourself. The choice is yours.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 02:09 PM   #8
EarthBound
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Beer Capital of the World
Posts: 1,062
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by wyzazz View Post
You can use a PID with Manual Mode (Like the Auber PID's) that will allow you to set the duty cycle of the element to a percentage or you can use a PWM to control it. Both require an SSR to drive the element with the proper voltage and to be honest when it's all said and done the PID is only around $25.00 more if you build the PWM yourself. The choice is yours.
I agree with this but would like to add that it's always good to have a redundant PID, just IMO.
__________________
"You can do anything you set your mind to when you have vision, determination, and an endless supply of beer."

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 07:32 PM   #9
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,982
Liked 99 Times on 88 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Eighty2Fifty1 View Post
http://www.amazon.com/General-Electr.../dp/B00308OUXW

Something along the lines of this? Of course I'll have to find one with the proper rating and all that.
Those electric range controllers won't work for an electric kettle, even if you find one rated for the amps you need. They don't turn on and off very frequently.

On a stove, this is fine because the heat transfer from hetaing element to cooking pot isn't very efficient. When the element turns off, there is a lot of heat still trapped in the element that will continue to be distributed to the cooking pot.

However, when you have an element actually submersed in the liquid, the heat transfer is extremely efficient. If you tried to use an infinite switch from an electric stove to control your kettle, you would get a pulsating boil; boil for a little while... stop for a little while. repeat.

You want that on/off kind of control, but you need it to happen at a much higher frequency than those knobs will allow.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 08:17 PM   #10
Bachhus
Recipes 
 
Dec 2010
Albany, OR
Posts: 126
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts


I didn't want to deal with a pid either on my boil kettle. I opted to go the route of a PWM ( pulse width modulator). My reasoning was I could build it, I like doing that sort of thing, I would have a simple dial that took it from off to full power and could easily be dialed back to achieve the desired power without having to change duty cycles on a pid. Walker posted some great info on PWM designs a while back. That's what I used and changed a few things around to have led indicator lights.

My 0.02. Hope it helps



 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump