GE Spa Panel Breaker - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > GE Spa Panel Breaker

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2011, 09:09 PM   #1
sdugre
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Holyoke, MA
Posts: 76


I've seen a lot of people recommend the GE Spa panel as an inexpensive 50 amp GFI. Does anybody know if this breaker will fit in a Square D Homeline panel?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 09:11 PM   #2
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,598
Liked 1049 Times on 713 Posts


It will not. You can get a homeline spa panel though. I have one.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 09:26 PM   #3
sdugre
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Holyoke, MA
Posts: 76

Drats... Looks the the cheapest option for me is to feed the GE panel from a regular 50A breaker in my load center.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 09:30 PM   #4
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,598
Liked 1049 Times on 713 Posts


That works too a 50A 2pole should be $15 or less.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 03:12 AM   #5
poolshark021
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
MI
Posts: 35

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdugre View Post
Drats... Looks the the cheapest option for me is to feed the GE panel from a regular 50A breaker in my load center.
If you go this route make sure you have 8/3 or 8/4 (depends on if you need 120V service) wire to run to the panel, and any plugs or connectors between the two need to be rated for 50A. If you don't need all 50A you can use a regular 30A breaker in the load center and #10 wire. I just went through this problem. Was much cheaper to wire the spa box for 30A and use the built in 50A gfci for ground fault protection only (uses the 30A breaker in the main panel for over current protection).
__________________
Primay: Empty
Secondary: West Coast Pale Ale
Kegerator: Mad Hatter Clone

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 02:32 PM   #6
mabrungard
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
mabrungard's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Carmel, IN
Posts: 4,144
Liked 611 Times on 474 Posts


You can typically get high ampacity GFCI breakers that will fit in your panel, but they are usually much more expensive than putting the regular 50 amp breaker in the panel and then adding the external Spa panel that contains the GFCI breakers.
__________________
Martin B
Carmel, IN
BJCP National
Foam Blowers of Indiana (FBI)

Brewing Water Information at:
https://sites.google.com/site/brunwater/

Like Bru'n Water on Facebook for occasional discussions on brewing water and Bru'n Water
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Brun-...?ref=bookmarks

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 02:50 PM   #7
sdugre
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Holyoke, MA
Posts: 76

Thats what it looks like. The cheapest I can find a square D 50A GFCI is close to $100, so I'll be going with the $50 GE spa panel and a $9 regular 50A breaker.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 03:34 PM   #8
McCuckerson
 
McCuckerson's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
Zebulon, North Carolina
Posts: 655
Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts


My plan is to mount this exact spa panel below the breaker panel. I will feed the 50a into the spa panel, then retrofit an outlet directly into the spa panel enclosure or onto the side of it. This would be almost like a sub panel. Do you guys see any problem with this?

I am also wondering how to test the GFI? Do you guys trust the "test" button on the breaker itself?
__________________
"Real men drink their freakin' yeast starters...."

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 06:30 PM   #9
sdugre
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Holyoke, MA
Posts: 76

Your plan looks good to me. I hadn't thought about mounting the outlet directly on the panel.

Regarding the test button on the gfci, it just shunts a small amount of current around the sensing current transformer, which is exactly what would happen if there was a ground fault. I trust the test button.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 07:22 PM   #10
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by McCuckerson View Post
My plan is to mount this exact spa panel below the breaker panel. I will feed the 50a into the spa panel, then retrofit an outlet directly into the spa panel enclosure or onto the side of it. This would be almost like a sub panel. Do you guys see any problem with this?
Nope. I helped a guy in Chapel Hill do this very thing. He mounted a 30A dryer plug in his spa panel where he can plug in his control panel.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running a sub panel with a full breaker box ChrisMichels Electric Brewing 7 05-12-2011 07:52 PM
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 08:43 PM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 07:42 PM
Pump breaker ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 6 01-09-2011 08:52 PM
panel to spa panel wiring buffalobrewer Electric Brewing 4 11-29-2010 12:06 AM


Forum Jump