HBT 2015 Big Giveaway - This is it - Final Weekend to Enter!

Huge Supporting Membership Discounts - 20% Off - Final Weekend!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > GE Spa Panel Breaker
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-14-2011, 09:09 PM   #1
sdugre
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Holyoke, MA
Posts: 106
Default GE Spa Panel Breaker

I've seen a lot of people recommend the GE Spa panel as an inexpensive 50 amp GFI. Does anybody know if this breaker will fit in a Square D Homeline panel?
sdugre is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 09:11 PM   #2
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,231
Liked 894 Times on 597 Posts
Likes Given: 658

Default

It will not. You can get a homeline spa panel though. I have one.
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 09:26 PM   #3
sdugre
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Holyoke, MA
Posts: 106
Default

Drats... Looks the the cheapest option for me is to feed the GE panel from a regular 50A breaker in my load center.
sdugre is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 09:30 PM   #4
lschiavo
Drinks Beer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Surrounded by Yoopers
Posts: 4,231
Liked 894 Times on 597 Posts
Likes Given: 658

Default

That works too a 50A 2pole should be $15 or less.
lschiavo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 03:12 AM   #5
poolshark021
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: MI
Posts: 35
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sdugre View Post
Drats... Looks the the cheapest option for me is to feed the GE panel from a regular 50A breaker in my load center.
If you go this route make sure you have 8/3 or 8/4 (depends on if you need 120V service) wire to run to the panel, and any plugs or connectors between the two need to be rated for 50A. If you don't need all 50A you can use a regular 30A breaker in the load center and #10 wire. I just went through this problem. Was much cheaper to wire the spa box for 30A and use the built in 50A gfci for ground fault protection only (uses the 30A breaker in the main panel for over current protection).
__________________
Primay: Empty
Secondary: West Coast Pale Ale
Kegerator: Mad Hatter Clone
poolshark021 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 02:32 PM   #6
mabrungard
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
mabrungard's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carmel, IN
Posts: 3,164
Liked 276 Times on 232 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

You can typically get high ampacity GFCI breakers that will fit in your panel, but they are usually much more expensive than putting the regular 50 amp breaker in the panel and then adding the external Spa panel that contains the GFCI breakers.
__________________
Martin B
Carmel, IN
BJCP National
Foam Blowers of Indiana (FBI)

Brewing Water Information at:
https://sites.google.com/site/brunwater/

Like Bru'n Water on Facebook for occasional discussions on brewing water and Bru'n Water
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Brun-...?ref=bookmarks
mabrungard is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 02:50 PM   #7
sdugre
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Holyoke, MA
Posts: 106
Default

Thats what it looks like. The cheapest I can find a square D 50A GFCI is close to $100, so I'll be going with the $50 GE spa panel and a $9 regular 50A breaker.
sdugre is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 03:34 PM   #8
McCuckerson
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Zebulon, North Carolina
Posts: 655
Liked 11 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 5

Default

My plan is to mount this exact spa panel below the breaker panel. I will feed the 50a into the spa panel, then retrofit an outlet directly into the spa panel enclosure or onto the side of it. This would be almost like a sub panel. Do you guys see any problem with this?

I am also wondering how to test the GFI? Do you guys trust the "test" button on the breaker itself?
__________________
"Real men drink their freakin' yeast starters...."
McCuckerson is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 06:30 PM   #9
sdugre
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Holyoke, MA
Posts: 106
Default

Your plan looks good to me. I hadn't thought about mounting the outlet directly on the panel.

Regarding the test button on the gfci, it just shunts a small amount of current around the sensing current transformer, which is exactly what would happen if there was a ground fault. I trust the test button.
sdugre is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 07:22 PM   #10
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,244
Liked 95 Times on 84 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by McCuckerson View Post
My plan is to mount this exact spa panel below the breaker panel. I will feed the 50a into the spa panel, then retrofit an outlet directly into the spa panel enclosure or onto the side of it. This would be almost like a sub panel. Do you guys see any problem with this?
Nope. I helped a guy in Chapel Hill do this very thing. He mounted a 30A dryer plug in his spa panel where he can plug in his control panel.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Running a sub panel with a full breaker box ChrisMichels Electric Brewing 7 05-12-2011 07:52 PM
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 08:43 PM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 06:42 PM
Pump breaker ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 6 01-09-2011 07:52 PM
panel to spa panel wiring buffalobrewer Electric Brewing 4 11-28-2010 11:06 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS