kenmore fridge throwing gfci - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Kegerators & Keezers > kenmore fridge throwing gfci

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-01-2011, 01:07 AM   #1
heckels
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 815
Liked 65 Times on 51 Posts



So my converted Kenmore kegerator took a dump after 6 months and started throwing my GFCI in my garage. Here's my analysis thus far:

1. Tried plugging into a 20a GFCI hooked directly to the panel. Tripped the gfci.
2. Plugged the fridge into a 15a arc fault outlet. Tripped the arc fault breaker.
3. Plugged the fridge into an unprotected 15a circuit. Did NOT trip the breaker. The fridge light came on so I know it's getting power. Compressor would not kick in.
4. Tapped the compressor with a rubber mallet in case it was siezed. Still did not start.
5. Disconnected the starter relay and read the ohms. The sum of the two non-neutral/neutral pins equaled that of touching the two non-neutral pins. 13.5 or so.

So, at this point I think it's the starter relay but would a bad starter relay trip the GFCI? Is there a way the average Joe can test the relay (ie bypass the relay and start the compressor)?

Anybody know of an alternate relay part numer to WR07K0005 that is still available. I didn't have any luck using google.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 05:16 AM   #2
rollinred
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Traverse City, MI
Posts: 327
Liked 10 Times on 7 Posts


You can test a relay by taking a power cord and hooking it to the coil side of the relay. You should then have the other side closing and allowing power through.

But really you should be able to test this inside the unit anyway. Why are you trying to ohm it out. Test your voltage through the relay not the ohm rating. A relay is a powered switch in a sense, its either on or off according to whether the coil is energized.

Don't forget, you also have a thermostat and capacitor in there. Find where the voltage is going in but not out. That is most likely your problem.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 08:42 AM   #3
Maxkling
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 554
Liked 30 Times on 17 Posts


Is your compressor humming or attempting to kick on?
__________________
Denny Conn - “The best beer possible with the least effort possible while having the most fun possible!”

Me - "Gun Control Means Using Both Hands."

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 01:13 PM   #4
heckels
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 815
Liked 65 Times on 51 Posts


Thanks guys. I ohmed out the compressor to try to rule out that the compressor windings weren't shorted. With the test I did it shows they are good yet. Or at least that's what the article I read online by an appliance repair man said. They also said they'll bypass the relay and start the compressor manually to prove the compressor is good.

The compressor does not hum or attempt to kick on when plugged in.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2011, 07:47 PM   #5
heckels
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 815
Liked 65 Times on 51 Posts


just in case others run into a similar problem...I did some trouble shooting and the issue stemmed back to a bad defrost timer. compressor and relays were fine

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 02:54 PM   #6
Hammy71
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Hammy71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
, Maryland, The Tax Me State
Posts: 5,891
Liked 527 Times on 400 Posts


Just as a word of caution also. I would never plug a fridge or freezer into a GFCI outlet. I can't tell you how many service calls I've been on where someone has lost a ton of deer meat because the CFCI recept in the garage tripped. They aren't made to take a load from a compressor or motor. That's why sump pumps in a basement get a single (non-gfci recept) by code.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 03:49 PM   #7
heckels
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 815
Liked 65 Times on 51 Posts


To add to that, it's code (at least in my neck of the woods) to have all garage and exterior outlets protected by a gfci receptacle. With that said, after this mishap (I did lose a few pounds of steaks but only a gallon of kegged homebrew) I decided to say screw code and swapped out the gfci for a standard receptacle. I may end up moving it down the line so that at least the rest of them on the chain are protected...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2011, 11:42 PM   #8
Hammy71
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
Hammy71's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
, Maryland, The Tax Me State
Posts: 5,891
Liked 527 Times on 400 Posts


Well code allows you to have a 'dedicated' single receptacle for sump pumps in the basement and for things like air compressors in your garage. But in lieu of that...yes, screw the code. lol

 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2011, 01:08 AM   #9
beaksnbeer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
beaksnbeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2011
New Port Richey, Florida
Posts: 2,844
Liked 505 Times on 334 Posts


A/C supply houses sell a universal start/run relay with overload....my.02

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump