making double batches - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > making double batches

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-27-2005, 04:36 PM   #1
Iguana
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Lincoln, Ne
Posts: 33


I am thinking of making a double batch of one of those kit brews just for the hell of it but I'm unsure about a few things....

Should I mix in the water after the boil before i put it in one big fermenter or should i use 2 fermenters and just put half the wort in on and half in the other then top those off to 5 gallons?

Or is making a double batch not a good idea?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 04:41 PM   #2
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


Unless you have a 12 or 13 gallon carboy, I think you are going to HAVE to use two fermenters.

If your cooking pot is large enough, then just make one double-batch of wort (all of the stuff from both kits plus 4 gallons of water) and put half of it in each fermenter and top both of them off with water.

-walker
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 04:44 PM   #3
cap46
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
ozarks
Posts: 73

I did 10 gallons of wheat yesterday. I put into 2 fermenters. Did the best I could at making sure they had the same amount from brew pot then added about half gallon of water that I had already boiled to each to get my 5.5 gallons. Both are burping away. It really didn't take any longer to brew 10 then it does to do 5. Good luck

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 04:51 PM   #4
Iguana
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Lincoln, Ne
Posts: 33

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker
Unless you have a 12 or 13 gallon carboy, I think you are going to HAVE to use two fermenters.

If your cooking pot is large enough, then just make one double-batch of wort (all of the stuff from both kits plus 4 gallons of water) and put half of it in each fermenter and top both of them off with water.

-walker
I used one of those turkey frier setups last night and that worked pretty well. but the wort only used bout about a 1/4 to 1/3 of it. It seemed so empty i thought i could put another batch in there.

yea, I've never seen a big ass carboy before either. plus, that would be one heavy SOB. lol.

I'll have to do the double carboy then.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 04:55 PM   #5
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


i hope you have a lot of empty bottles ready to go!
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2005, 05:02 PM   #6
Iguana
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Lincoln, Ne
Posts: 33

Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker
i hope you have a lot of empty bottles ready to go!

LOL...yea, i have a couple hundred. but I do need to clean them good. they've been sitting for a long while.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Double batches - brewing gone wild Wables All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 1 10-28-2008 05:05 PM
Making large batches...equipment BryanZ DIY Projects 36 03-25-2008 02:40 PM
Making half batches Cos General Techniques 5 02-08-2008 11:35 PM
Double Batches? jacobyhale All Grain & Partial Mash Brewing 13 11-16-2007 04:43 PM
who here brews double batches? Mr_Moe Beginners Beer Brewing Forum 1 07-16-2007 08:11 PM


Forum Jump