HBT 2015 Big Giveaway - This is it - Final Weekend to Enter!

Huge Supporting Membership Discounts - 20% Off - Final Weekend!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > GFCI 30 amp cords extinct? Question on GFCI breaker too...
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-19-2011, 03:16 AM   #11
petey_c
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
petey_c's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Miller Place, NY (Long Island)
Posts: 1,162
Liked 44 Times on 42 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

bbognerks, Sorry if you misunderstood. I was surprised that the whole spa panel was cheaper than just the GFI breaker alone. I just assumed that it would be more expensive.
petey_c is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 03:13 PM   #12
jdlev
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 667
Liked 11 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Gonna stop by HD later today and start wiring.
__________________
Hob Knob Brewery
jdlev is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 10:47 AM   #13
Cybershadow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Windsor, PA
Posts: 182
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
Couple of options: Get this for $49.00
[URL="http://www.homedepot.com/buy/electrical/breakers-distribution-load-centers/ge/50-amp-spa-panel-with-gfi-72577.html"]HomeDepot GE 50A spa panel[/]

And wire it like one or the other of these images show:




What about wiring this to a 4 wire 30 amp dryer outlet?
Cybershadow is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 11:04 AM   #14
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,329
Liked 290 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 485

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cybershadow View Post
What about wiring this to a 4 wire 30 amp dryer outlet?
Then you wire it like the first diagram shows. The only difference is it would be fed from a 30A breaker instead of a 50A.
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 01:37 PM   #15
Cybershadow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Windsor, PA
Posts: 182
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

makes sense, thanks
Cybershadow is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 01:40 PM   #16
Cybershadow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Windsor, PA
Posts: 182
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Is there an issue with the breaker being 50 amp and the power from my breaker box is 30 amp? Will the GFI still work correctly and protect me?
Cybershadow is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 02:50 PM   #17
snail
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 323
Liked 13 Times on 5 Posts

Default

The 30 amp breaker in the main panel is there for overcurrent protection. The inline GFI breaker will protect you in case of ground faults. It will work fine.
snail is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 03:09 PM   #18
jcwalsh
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
jcwalsh's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Shawnee, KS
Posts: 44
Default Welder

I know this is a bit off subject but does anyone know if you can use a GFI protected outlet with a welder. I ran 240 to the garage a couple of years ago for welding and want to put a GFI breaker in for brewing.
jcwalsh is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 11:05 PM   #19
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,329
Liked 290 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 485

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcwalsh View Post
I know this is a bit off subject but does anyone know if you can use a GFI protected outlet with a welder. I ran 240 to the garage a couple of years ago for welding and want to put a GFI breaker in for brewing.
It might, but, it really depends on the way the welder is fabricated and wired. If the welder output is completely isolated from the input power it will work just fine. (Completely isolated through its transformer.)
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 10:25 PM   #20
Cybershadow
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Windsor, PA
Posts: 182
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

i have this wired exactly like this and as soon as i plug my dryer back in it trips the breaker. I dunno what is wrong.
Cybershadow is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 amp breaker...20 amp GFCI? jdlev Electric Brewing 2 06-05-2011 07:46 PM
GFCI breaker on control box? Pez Electric Brewing 26 04-25-2011 03:50 PM
ebay 30A GFCI breaker CanadianNorth Electric Brewing 6 04-08-2011 04:54 PM
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 08:43 PM
2 Pole GFCI Breaker With 4 Wire Cord? ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 8 02-08-2011 06:37 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS