Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > GFI breakers and wiring a 220v heating element
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-27-2011, 01:01 AM   #1
CanadianNorth
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 117
Default GFI breakers and wiring a 220v heating element

hey folks,

So I'm in the process of designing a system similiar to Kal's (electricbrewery.com). Not going to be as 'shiny', but eh.

i have two questions:

I installed a 30 amp GFCI breaker in my panel the other day, and hooked it up to a 4-wire dryer plug. Seems all good, voltage tests out dead on at 240, etc. However, when I push the test button the breaker nothing happens. I assumed it would 'pop' , like a regular GFCI plug in a bathroom. Am I missing something here? does there need to be a load on the circuit, or do I have a bum breaker??

As well, I notice that it LOOKS like Kal is using a ground with his 2 240 hot wire to his boil kettle. However, doesn't the GFCI measure the relationship between the neutral and the hot wire? so, don't you need to use the neural instead of ground, to make the GFCI effective?

THANKS!!!!!!!

<<P.S. I am going to have two electrical engineer friends check over my diagram and help with building the unit, I have no intention of killing myself >>


__________________
.
It's just beer man.... they've been doing it for years......
CanadianNorth is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 01:15 AM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadianNorth View Post
...
I installed a 30 amp GFCI breaker in my panel the other day, and hooked it up to a 4-wire dryer plug. Seems all good, voltage tests out dead on at 240, etc. However, when I push the test button the breaker nothing happens.
...
One of 2 things. Either the breaker is not wired properly or it is defective.


P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 02:03 AM   #3
CanadianNorth
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 117
Default

thats unfortunate. i'm 99% sure it is wired right
__________________
.
It's just beer man.... they've been doing it for years......
CanadianNorth is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 02:13 AM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 294 Times on 231 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Can you sketch a diagram on how you have it wired? Or - snap a picture? This way we can be sure it is set up right. I'm interested in how you have your 'white' wire connection set up to your GFCI breaker input and output.
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 02:13 AM   #5
BrewMoreBeers
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 398
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

I have a 60 amp GFI that I recently installed... I just tested it with no load and the test button tripped the breaker as expected.
BrewMoreBeers is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 03:00 AM   #6
acefaser
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: firestone, co
Posts: 350
Liked 17 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Does the white wire from your 4 wire dryer plug go into the breaker and then the white wire installed in the breaker go to the white terminal bar?
I agree we need to see your wiring diagram.
acefaser is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 09:25 AM   #7
CanadianNorth
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Newfoundland, Canada
Posts: 117
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acefaser View Post
Does the white wire from your 4 wire dryer plug go into the breaker and then the white wire installed in the breaker go to the white terminal bar?
I agree we need to see your wiring diagram.
yes,

The ground from the recepticle goes to the ground in the breaker panel. The hots go to breaker, of course, and the white wire from the recepticle goes into the breaker as well, just above a coiled white wire. That coiled white wire comes out of the breaker and goes in turn to the neutral bar on the panel.
__________________
.
It's just beer man.... they've been doing it for years......
CanadianNorth is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2011, 01:14 PM   #8
BrewMoreBeers
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Ohio
Posts: 398
Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

Default

sounds like a bad breaker to me. I assume you have cycled it a few times just to be sure the breaker switch throws properly.


BrewMoreBeers is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PID and heating element lian82 Electric Brewing 2 05-15-2011 09:01 AM
120v on 220v element? hatrickwah Electric Brewing 34 03-07-2011 09:14 PM
120 v heating element nediver Electric Brewing 6 02-18-2011 02:42 PM
Power/E-stop Wiring for 2 inputs (120V & 220V) thelorax121 Electric Brewing 15 02-03-2011 02:58 AM
Where did you get your heating element? CircleC-Brewer Electric Brewing 20 10-29-2010 02:26 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS