Heating Element Switch Question - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Heating Element Switch Question

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2011, 02:33 AM   #1
JrZyBud
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 51


Okay so I've just finished wiring up my RIMS toolbox as per the RIMS for dummies thread. I used a 1500w element, Auber PID and 25amp SSR. I installed a switch between the SSR and the heating element.

When I turn on my box the element should only run when I have the switch set to the on position, but it seems to be running no matter what and I'm not sure why. I haven't calibrated the PID or run auto tune yet.

Here is a wiring diagram that just shows the PID, SSR, switch and Element. The switch is a 3 way 15/20amp switch I had laying around. What am I doing wrong? Does it have something to do with the SSR?


 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 02:37 AM   #2
hatrickwah
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
UP, Michigan
Posts: 263
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts


3-Way switch? What for? A simple 2-way should be all you need if you want to effect on/off on the element in line with your SSR. You are simply trying to effect the current to the element. A 3-way switch requires a second 3-way to have any effect here, as you have it, it will either always be on, or always off.
__________________
Keeping busy brewing & building.

Electric Brewing Supply

My e-Brewery | Keezer Build & Tap Tower Refurbish |Glycol System

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 02:39 AM   #3
JrZyBud
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 51

*EDIT*

Well I guess I will just have to go and get a different switch. Thanks for the help!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 02:51 AM   #4
hatrickwah
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Recipes 
 
Nov 2010
UP, Michigan
Posts: 263
Liked 6 Times on 5 Posts


Based on your diagram, I would say you should be good, make sure one wire is tied to your common and then of course the other tied to one of the other poles. I'm assuming you have a temp probe tied to the PID. I can't vouch for the PID autotuning and sort since I haven't gotten there yet on my brew rig, but from my experience you shouldn't need to tune it yet, it should still sense a temperature and it should switch as you set your target temps. Just a thought, but check your wiring to the SSR, make sure you have + on + and - on -, DC is picky.
__________________
Keeping busy brewing & building.

Electric Brewing Supply

My e-Brewery | Keezer Build & Tap Tower Refurbish |Glycol System

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 04:41 AM   #5
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2006
Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 23,380
Liked 1791 Times on 1139 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by hatrickwah View Post
3-Way switch? What for? A simple 2-way should be all you need if you want to effect on/off on the element in line with your SSR. You are simply trying to effect the current to the element. A 3-way switch requires a second 3-way to have any effect here, as you have it, it will either always be on, or always off.
Actually, a 3 way switch can be used as on/off. It's basically just a single pole double throw switch (SPDT). The "travelers" connect to the NC and NO terminals.
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New Stirplates are IN!
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 09:57 PM   #6
JrZyBud
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 51

Okay well I stopped and picked up another switch on my way home ... I will wire this one up and see if it makes any difference. If not the only think I could think that would be the problem would be my 1 & 2 leads on the SSR. Everything else is wired properly

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 10:05 PM   #7
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


agree with what bobby said. the 3-way switch is fine to use here, you just end up using it like a simple switch.

BUT.... this issue can't be related to the SSR. If your switch is off, then it doesn't matter what the SSR is doing - there simply isn't any path for current to flow on.

The 3-way switch might have been busted or something, which seems unlikely, but it's the only thing I can think of to try and explain why your element wouldn't shut off when the switch was flipped.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 01:05 AM   #8
EarthBound
Recipes 
 
Mar 2010
Beer Capital of the World
Posts: 1,069
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts


You might've wired the 3-way switch incorrectly. Perform continuity tests on the 3-way switch to make sure you know how it works and that it's wired correctly.
__________________
"You can do anything you set your mind to when you have vision, determination, and an endless supply of beer."

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 01:55 AM   #9
Bobby_M
Vendor and Brewer
HBT_SPONSOR.png
 
Bobby_M's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2006
Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 23,380
Liked 1791 Times on 1139 Posts


The weird thing is that you could randomly pick any two of the three terminals on a 3-way switch and in no case would the two be connected constantly in both switch positions. If you picked the two travellers, it would never have connectivity. Broken is probably correct.
__________________
Welcome to BrewHardware.com. I love you.
New Stirplates are IN!
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 06:24 PM   #10
JrZyBud
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
Williamstown, NJ
Posts: 51

Well it must have been a faulty switch, because I just got around to replacing it and installing the new one and everything seems to be working fine now. Thanks for the help everyone!

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switch for running element at 120v OR 240V? thelorax121 Electric Brewing 14 05-10-2011 11:37 PM
3 Way Switch, 1500W element help TimWeber Electric Brewing 4 03-31-2011 11:04 PM
question about heating element stoneyrok Electric Brewing 13 03-25-2011 11:25 AM
120 v heating element nediver Electric Brewing 6 02-18-2011 02:42 PM
Selector switch to use one pic for two seperate element/probes StumpyJohnson Electric Brewing 23 11-24-2010 03:03 PM


Forum Jump