Running a sub panel with a full breaker box - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Running a sub panel with a full breaker box

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-12-2011, 05:14 PM   #1
ChrisMichels
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Fox River Grove, IL
Posts: 51


I have 100 amp service in my new home. I want to run a subpanel to an extra room in the basement and make an all electric brew set up. I'm not too sure how to accomplish this with the full breaker box. Any suggestions? I think i'd like to go with 60a or 100a subpanel. I'm thinking 60a would cut it for a 5500w + 4500w and a couple of pumps + other small things.

What say you?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 05:43 PM   #2
evanmars
EAC Wannabe
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
evanmars's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2006
Springport, Michigan
Posts: 926
Liked 58 Times on 38 Posts


I say upgrade to 200A service.
__________________
Consistency is only a virtue if you're not a screwup

Primary - Duck Lake EPA
Duck Pee (Cream of Three Crops variant)

Secondary - 0
Kegged - 0 No kegs anymore :(
Bottled - 0

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 05:50 PM   #3
ChrisMichels
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Fox River Grove, IL
Posts: 51

I'd have to get a new box too. I wonder what the cost difference would be.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 06:29 PM   #4
rcrabb22
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
rcrabb22's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2008
Illinois
Posts: 715
Liked 23 Times on 16 Posts


I'm in the same boat. I want 240V service in my garage and I only have 100 amp service now. I don't think I'll be able to run my central AC and supply an electric brewery at the same time. I verified with the power company the underground line to my home will support 200 amp service. To install a new load center would require disconnect of old load center and pray all the conduit exiting would match up to knockouts on new load center. No matter what, power off in the house while it's updated and my lovely bride will not be happy.

I think this a job for electrician to cover my butt with insurance company coverage.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 06:38 PM   #5
ChrisMichels
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Fox River Grove, IL
Posts: 51

I would be pushing it extremely close with 100 amp service, I know that for sure. Water heater/central air/pool motor + brewery. Evanmars may be right. Which means....all the money i have saved for me electric brew rig would go to getting the service upgraded. I could go gas, but damn it gets cold in the winter here.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 07:47 PM   #6
acefaser
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
firestone, co
Posts: 347
Liked 19 Times on 13 Posts


Can you just change a 100a panel for a 200a?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 07:49 PM   #7
sdugre
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Holyoke, MA
Posts: 76

You could swap out 4 existing breakers with tandems (ie: http://www.drillspot.com/products/27...tandem_breaker ) to make room for a new breaker for your load center. Just did this at my house as a matter of fact.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2011, 07:52 PM   #8
ChrisMichels
Recipes 
 
Jul 2010
Fox River Grove, IL
Posts: 51

acefaser - I guess you could put a 200a panel in on 100a service, but if i go that far, might as well just upgrade my service as well.

Sdurge - I'm going to try to measure my total load tonight....If I can swing it with a few of my major appliances running with the proposed brewery load, I may try this route as it would be the easiest.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Panel GFCI Breaker IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 13 03-23-2011 08:43 PM
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 07:42 PM
Pump breaker ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 6 01-09-2011 08:52 PM
Did I Blow My Breaker? Maltose Electric Brewing 5 12-12-2010 04:58 AM
panel to spa panel wiring buffalobrewer Electric Brewing 4 11-29-2010 12:06 AM


Forum Jump