Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > Question regarding 1st year hop pruning/training.

Old 04-25-2011, 04:46 PM   #1
Rahahb
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default Question regarding 1st year hop pruning/training.

Seems to be some conflicting information on this in the threads I've searched. I don't doubt I missed some definitive information though..

This is my first year for hops. I have 1 cascade plant that has really taken off considering how late I planted it(little under 2 weeks ago). I have 2 of the other 3 that are still small and have only a couple of bines poking through.

Some people say leave 1st year hops alone. Some say cut all but 2 or 3 bines. Freshops instructions say 2-3 bines/rope with 2 ropes per plant. I only ran 1 rope per plant so I'm limited there. If it was absolutely necessary, I could revise my trellis to have 2 ropes per plant, but I'd rather wait til harvest.

Here's a current picture.

Thanks

Old 04-25-2011, 04:56 PM   #2
cactusgarrett
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 8

First year i would suggest 2-3 bines per line, 2 lines per rhizome. Of course, this will probably contradict someone else's advice, and you're right back to square one...

Old 04-25-2011, 08:28 PM   #3
Randar
Damn right I got da brews
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 4845 Times on 4721 Posts
Likes Given: 2959

Quote:
Originally Posted by cactusgarrett View Post
First year i would suggest 2-3 bines per line, 2 lines per rhizome. Of course, this will probably contradict someone else's advice, and you're right back to square one...