Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Looking to start AG soon and want to go with BIAB single vessel electric brewing
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-24-2011, 09:33 PM   #1
Garrett
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 258
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default Looking to start AG soon and want to go with BIAB single vessel electric brewing

Been brewing extract and partial on the stove for about 6 months now and I am now ready to make the move to AG. Been doing lots of research on the forums and it seems like electric brewing is the way to go! I would like to do the BIAB single vessel electric method, seems like it is very effect and really cuts down on time, clean up and equipment cost. My concerns are, I have no electrical/wiring experience, I am on a budget as well and I am starting from scratch with equipment. Are there any simplified methods of doing this for someone so new to it all? What would be the best way to execute all of this properly, safely and cost effectively?

Thanks for your help in advance!


Garrett is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2011, 09:40 PM   #2
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,333
Liked 291 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 492

Default

I just posted a wiring diagram for a BIAB setup in this thread:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/wir...-setup-241686/


P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 05:15 AM   #3
Garrett
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 258
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J View Post
I just posted a wiring diagram for a BIAB setup in this thread:
http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/wir...-setup-241686/
Thank you P-J. I currently live in a rental and do not believe i would have access to 240v. I only have access to regular wall outlets, which I believe are 120v? Is there anyway to get this to work with what i have?
Garrett is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 10:43 AM   #4
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,333
Liked 291 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 492

Default

Does your rental have clothes washer/dryer outlets?
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 05:35 PM   #5
Garrett
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 258
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

This is what I have in the garage, it says 30A-125/250v. We do not use it, we have both washer/dryer plugged into regular wall outlet.
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1942839411.jpg
Views:	1430
Size:	5.2 KB
ID:	24881  
__________________
Ambitious Ales
Garrett is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2011, 11:21 PM   #6
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,333
Liked 291 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 492

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garrett View Post
This is what I have in the garage, it says 30A-125/250v. We do not use it, we have both washer/dryer plugged into regular wall outlet.
Sounds like you have a gas dryer. No problem as it sounds like the outlet that you pictured is available. With that it would be an easy task to setup a BIAB system that is powered by 240V. It would be similar to the diagram I referenced earlier (above) but would be setup for 240V only.

If you are interested, I can mod the diagram to accomplish that.

Oh: Another quick question. Is there any chance that the circuit breaker feeding that outlet can be changed to a GFCI outlet? It would be well worth the added safety factor.

P-J
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 12:00 AM   #7
Garrett
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 258
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

That sounds great! My only concern is if I move out, having an outlet like that available for me in the future. Im not sure if I can get a GFCI outlet, I guess I could hire an electrician and have it installed, not sure how much that would cost. My circuit breaker is divided into two boxes, one main and one that controls the house.

Heres a picture of the main:



Also since I am so new to this, I notice in the diagram there is nothing about having a temperature probe, isn't that necessary to achieve proper temp?
Garrett is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 12:23 AM   #8
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,333
Liked 291 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 492

Default

I'm betting it is the top left breaker. Wish we lived closer -it would take all of 5 minutes to swap it out an test it. You might want to go on a research adventure and write down the make/model info on that breaker panel. Then go see if you can get a GFCI replacement reasonably at HD or Lowes (et.al.). If you are game - I can walk you through it on the phone.

Regarding the temp probe. It is there but is only shown as a RTD probe on the PID layout.

Suggestion: PM me your phone number and lets talk a bit.

P-J
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 12:55 AM   #9
Garrett
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Fullerton, CA
Posts: 258
Liked 13 Times on 13 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

That makes sense since it says 30 on it, I just took a look at the circuit breaker box and the brand is Crouse Hinds, but the model number is hard to make out. Just sent you a PM.
Garrett is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2011, 02:07 AM   #10
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,333
Liked 291 Times on 229 Posts
Likes Given: 492

Default

Thanks.! It was great talking with you. My mind is spinning with possibilities for a setup for you that provides the 'safety factor' and an easy implementation.

A Spa Panel is step one. Then the BIAB setup.


P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric BIAB and Nylon Voile Experiment gunner65 Electric Brewing 43 03-02-2015 09:26 PM
Electric brewing is the way.. Jknapp Electric Brewing 11 08-20-2011 09:37 PM
New Electric BIAB system Navy_Brewer Electric Brewing 22 07-29-2011 08:49 PM
electric equipment start up costs wacko Electric Brewing 40 12-29-2010 02:48 PM
new to electric brewing Q's HH60gunner Electric Brewing 6 12-13-2010 10:40 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS