How to make an outlet from range plug - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > How to make an outlet from range plug

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2011, 12:33 PM   #1
gclay
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 261
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts



I have been wondering if I can make a box that plugs into my 240v range out let that will have an extension cord for my brewing panel? Like a power bar I guess.

Gerald

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:38 PM   #2
lschiavo
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
lschiavo's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2009
Upper Peninsula of..., Michigan
Posts: 4,771
Liked 1113 Times on 755 Posts


Sure. Just get a male plug and female connector. You can make an extension cord whatever length you need. The cable and ends can get a bit pricey though.

*edit* sorry if I misunderstood. I am not sure what you mean by power bar.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:54 PM   #3
wyzazz
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,315
Liked 56 Times on 53 Posts


Are you looking to split the 240V to 120V? If so this can be done if you have a 3+G cable run to the outlet, or a 4 prong range outlet.

What voltage does your control panel need? Give us some specifics and we can try to help out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 01:23 PM   #4
gclay
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 261
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts


I was looking to make the toolbox control panel. I want to make a box that I can plug into the wall, plug the range into that and have a cord run from the box to the control panel.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 01:32 PM   #5
gclay
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 261
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts


I want to use the 240v for brewing without having to unplug the range.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 01:34 PM   #6
wyzazz
Recipes 
 
Aug 2009
Atwater, OH
Posts: 4,315
Liked 56 Times on 53 Posts


Hmmmm, how many amps is the breaker that your range runs on?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Revvy View Post
And I'd like to see my 1.080 beers ready from grain to glass in a week, and served to me by red-headed twin penthouse pets wearing garter belts and fishnet stockings, with Irish accents, calling me "master luv gun," but we can't always get what we want can we? :)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 01:36 PM   #7
skibumdc
 
skibumdc's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2008
NoVa
Posts: 224
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


Just buy 1 male plug, 2 female plugs and some x gauge wire. X= gauge of wire you need to safely use the outlet based on amps being drawn & length of cord.

Make your own splitter. As long as you don't use both at the same time the outlet in the wall won't care if split the physical connection after the socket

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 01:37 PM   #8
MazdaMatt
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 275
Liked 11 Times on 8 Posts


Honestly, I think that if you're asking this questions, you should be hiring someone.

Personally, I would just pop a hole in the wall below the range plug, install a second range-plug box as a brew plug and run the wires in parallel from the range plug to the brew plug (inside the wall, of course).

Be careful of your total power requirements, you may overrun the breaker if you've got the oven and stove on and you're trying to run brew equipment.

Alternatively, clip another breaker into your breaker box and run a fresh wire to your brew room and install a plug.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 01:37 PM   #9
gclay
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 261
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts


40 amp double breaker

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 01:39 PM   #10
gclay
Recipes 
 
Apr 2011
Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 261
Liked 2 Times on 1 Posts


I can create a splitter in basic circuits, Just wondering if it's the same thing. I wouldn't be using oven and brew at the same time.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
placement of GFCI outlet kappclark Electric Brewing 7 03-05-2011 06:13 PM
How much power is available at the outlet? SenorWanderer Electric Brewing 9 02-08-2011 04:57 AM
Range extension cord>outlet>inline gfi snail Electric Brewing 4 12-13-2010 04:22 PM
3 Prong Range Outlet Chefkeith Electric Brewing 5 11-29-2010 04:00 PM
Laundry Outlet? ZWood15 Electric Brewing 13 10-19-2010 04:53 AM


Forum Jump