Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Any issue using larger gauge wire?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2011, 04:33 PM   #1
adivito
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Naperville
Posts: 186
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Any issue using larger gauge wire?

Quick question for the electrical experts out there. Currently I have a 50 amp and a 30 amp receptacle in my garage. I am thinking about swapping where they are located. I have 6 gauge to both receptacles so moving the 50 where I want isnt an issue. Where I want to move the 30 amp receptacle to only has a 6 gauge run. Is there any issues using a larger gauge wire? I dont believe there is, but wanted to double check. Thanks


adivito is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 04:38 PM   #2
Inodoro_Pereyra
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 868
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

None. Having larger wire will make it work cooler, which is a good thing.


__________________
A pessimist is a well informed optimist.
Inodoro_Pereyra is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 04:40 PM   #3
adivito
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Naperville
Posts: 186
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Thats what I thought, just needed to double check.
adivito is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2011, 04:42 PM   #4
Inodoro_Pereyra
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 868
Liked 12 Times on 12 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

A #6 will handle 55A @ 60*C. For 30A, it won't even break a sweat.
__________________
A pessimist is a well informed optimist.
Inodoro_Pereyra is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 02:21 AM   #5
kal
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
kal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 2,318
Liked 256 Times on 174 Posts
Likes Given: 6

Default

The only issue is cost. Typically you use the smallest wire you need to save $$$.

Kal
kal is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 02:58 AM   #6
samc
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Portland OR
Posts: 5,423
Liked 62 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 29

Default

If you can cleanly terminate the wire in the device then it sounds ok. Sometimes trying to fit a too large gauge wire into the wrong device can be difficult. Note that you will usually find a size range on the plug or receptacle.
samc is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 07:28 PM   #7
smokinghole
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
smokinghole's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lucid Dream Land
Posts: 2,917
Liked 125 Times on 102 Posts
Likes Given: 12

Default

Not that you'll be dealing with this type of power but it is none the less interesting. I did a tour one day of a satellite tracking facility when I was stationed at Eglin AFB. For the super high voltage stuff they just used copper pipe. I guess the electrical engineers figured out somehow that when you get to have very thick gauge wire the electricity only flows on the outer strands leaving the inner strands unused. So to save money/copper they did copper plumbing pipe for certain circuits.
__________________
Going through life is hard.
Going through life stupid is harder.
smokinghole is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 09:45 PM   #8
Bernie Brewer
Grouchy Old Fart
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Bernie Brewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Eldorado, WI
Posts: 7,537
Liked 140 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by samc View Post
If you can cleanly terminate the wire in the device then it sounds ok. Sometimes trying to fit a too large gauge wire into the wrong device can be difficult. Note that you will usually find a size range on the plug or receptacle.
What he said. As long as the wire will fit, you are golden.

Quote:
Originally Posted by smokinghole View Post
Not that you'll be dealing with this type of power but it is none the less interesting. I did a tour one day of a satellite tracking facility when I was stationed at Eglin AFB. For the super high voltage stuff they just used copper pipe. I guess the electrical engineers figured out somehow that when you get to have very thick gauge wire the electricity only flows on the outer strands leaving the inner strands unused. So to save money/copper they did copper plumbing pipe for certain circuits.
That's called skin effect. The current does flow in the middle too, but there is definitely more on the outside.


__________________
I like to squeeze the nickle until the buffalo craps-mt rob

"Why don't we get drunk and screw?" Jimmy Buffett
Bernie Brewer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 wire 240v GFCI question thelorax121 Electric Brewing 25 03-30-2011 02:31 AM
4 wire conversion kjackbrown Electric Brewing 15 03-06-2011 10:23 PM
RTD extension wire Dave258 Electric Brewing 8 02-03-2011 12:06 PM
Heatstick 12 gauge electrical wire/cord? redalert Electric Brewing 11 01-07-2011 04:09 PM
Dallas one wire and connector question EuBrew Electric Brewing 11 12-21-2010 07:56 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS