Wire gauge - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Wire gauge

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-04-2011, 03:12 PM   #1
stokems
 
stokems's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2008
Boston
Posts: 156
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts



For my rims I have a 1500w element. I was wondering if a 16/3 wire is the right gauge to safely wire it?
Thanks guys, MJ

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 03:13 PM   #2
stokems
 
stokems's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2008
Boston
Posts: 156
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


The amperage is 13 as well

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 03:26 PM   #3
Bernie Brewer
Grouchy Old Fart
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Bernie Brewer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Feb 2006
Eldorado, WI
Posts: 7,507
Liked 148 Times on 59 Posts


No. You need a 20 amp circuit, so you need #12.
__________________
I like to squeeze the nickle until the buffalo craps-mt rob

"Why don't we get drunk and screw?" Jimmy Buffett

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 03:33 PM   #4
emit31
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
Nipomo, CA
Posts: 36

yep, 12 AWG for that bad boy. Make sure you have it plugged into a 20 amp circuit too.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 03:41 PM   #5
stokems
 
stokems's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2008
Boston
Posts: 156
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Thanks Bern. Guess I'll have to exchange the cord.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 04:01 PM   #6
itsme6582
 
itsme6582's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2009
Cleveland
Posts: 825
Liked 25 Times on 22 Posts


Here's a nice wire gauge calculator

http://www.csgnetwork.com/wiresizecalc.html

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 04:13 PM   #7
stokems
 
stokems's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2008
Boston
Posts: 156
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


This was what I thought would work. Wrong answer.
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3874533576.jpg
Views:	188
Size:	11.9 KB
ID:	23262  

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 06:24 PM   #8
microbusbrewery
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
microbusbrewery's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
West Jordan, UT
Posts: 1,801
Liked 215 Times on 172 Posts


As two of the previous posts mentioned, you also want to make sure you use a 20 amp circuit. Electricians, please correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe you don't want to exceed about 80% of your amperage rating, so that would be around 16 amps on a 20 amp circuit. Just something to keep in mind in case you have additional things plugged in on the same circuit.

I have a HERMS using two 1500 watt elements (one in heat exchanger, one in HLT) each plugged into a dedicated circuit. The only 12 AWG cords I could find at Lowe's were the ones intended for window AC units. I can't remember how much I paid, but I want to say they were around $12 each.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 07:58 PM   #9
stokems
 
stokems's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2008
Boston
Posts: 156
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


So another question. I found a spool of 12/2 that has a copper ground in it(should that make it 12/3) 600 volts. It's romex wire. Will this be capable? I know, I know.....electric noob.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2011, 08:02 PM   #10
hillhousesawdustco
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
hillhousesawdustco's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2011
up near babb, mt
Posts: 646
Liked 35 Times on 34 Posts


12/2 INCLUDES the copper ground. 12/3 will have a red wire that is generally used as an extra hot wire for a total of 4 wires (white, black, red, bare copper or green)

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump