Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Fermenters > DIY Noob - Johnson A419 Q's
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2011, 02:32 PM   #1
joetothemo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 453
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default DIY Noob - Johnson A419 Q's

I ordered a Johnson A419 from http://www.pexsupply.com/

I bought this without knowing it would not arrive pre-wired.

I saw some threads that state it is not hard to wire this controller...but can't find a thorough thread and/or "how-to."

Can you guys help a brother out? Or should I seek out a pro?


__________________


In Primary:
Amarillo Pale Ale
A Stout I brewed for a guy as a lesson

In Bottles:
Jamil's Belgian Tripel
Centennial Pale Ale

On Draft:
Imperial Red Ale

joetothemo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 02:42 PM   #2
weirdboy
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 8,000
Liked 440 Times on 359 Posts
Likes Given: 63

Default

It really isn't hard. The controller should come with a wiring diagram but all you really need to do is buy a 3-prong extension cable and cut it in half, then wire up the "male" half going to power, and the "female" half going to the fridge (or whatever you are controlling). Also you have to connect the probe but it's only two wires and it doesn't matter which wire is connected to which pole.

The only thing is to be careful which controller you have. MAKE SURE your controller says it's for 110/120v AC and not 220 or something else. Should say on the board where you make connections and set the jumpers.


EDIT: Here's the document that SHOULD come with it but you never know. Please note the diagram on page 3.

http://cgproducts.johnsoncontrols.co...2476642543.pdf


weirdboy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 03:20 PM   #3
joetothemo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 453
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

That is a huge help. Thanks!
__________________


In Primary:
Amarillo Pale Ale
A Stout I brewed for a guy as a lesson

In Bottles:
Jamil's Belgian Tripel
Centennial Pale Ale

On Draft:
Imperial Red Ale

joetothemo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 05:48 PM   #4
joetothemo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 453
Liked 12 Times on 11 Posts
Likes Given: 31

Default

Maybe a silly question. But can I just use a regular 3 prong cord? or will I need somethign bigger like dryer cord?
__________________


In Primary:
Amarillo Pale Ale
A Stout I brewed for a guy as a lesson

In Bottles:
Jamil's Belgian Tripel
Centennial Pale Ale

On Draft:
Imperial Red Ale

joetothemo is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 06:11 PM   #5
Homercidal
Licensed Sensual Massage Therapist.
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Reed City, MI
Posts: 27,355
Liked 3642 Times on 2478 Posts
Likes Given: 2442

Default

A regular 3 prong cord is fine. I used the end of a computer cord. Being in IT I have TONS of them. Then used another cord for the female portion and bought a female cord end to plug the fridge into.
Homercidal is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 07:12 PM   #6
wildwest450
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,099
Liked 170 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

If the bottom of the controller is like the Ranco is, don't forget a romex connector, it may save your wiring from being pulled out of the box.

http://www.amazon.com/Romex%C2%AE-Co.../dp/B0003S2MEQ


_
wildwest450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2011, 07:20 PM   #7
Homercidal
Licensed Sensual Massage Therapist.
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Homercidal's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Reed City, MI
Posts: 27,355
Liked 3642 Times on 2478 Posts
Likes Given: 2442

Default

And have fun securing the sensor wires. I have no flippin answer to why a strain relief is not included with the controller...


FYI - Mine will do heating OR cooling, but you have to open the cover to access it jumper. I plan on adding a small switch to the cover and wire it to the header so I can flip it easier. Living in Michigan means I half a 50-50 chance of needing one or the other!
Homercidal is online now
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2011, 01:46 PM   #8
ODI3
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: LONDON, Ontario Canada
Posts: 204
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

For my johnson controller, i just tied a knot in the cords so they couldnt get pulled through the box.
ODI3 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2011, 02:19 AM   #9
dutchoven
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
dutchoven's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: SF Bay Area, California
Posts: 641
Liked 8 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Here's the thread I used: http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/how-...s-a419-167453/
dutchoven is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 04:32 AM   #10
SFSpencer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SF, CA
Posts: 44
Liked 6 Times on 4 Posts

Default

Hey
Didnt want to start a new thread so i figured i'd piggyback on this one.......I want to replace the temp probe with a longer one...Am i safe to get in there as long as its unplugged? I know pretty much nothing about electronics and would rather not get electrocuted.....haha.


SFSpencer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone DIY a Johnson A419 temp sensor?? WPStrassburg Brew Stands 0 03-24-2011 12:54 AM
Johnson Controls A419 Question GRHunter Kegerators and Keezers 4 05-17-2010 01:03 AM
Johnson A419 Temp Controller Q BSBrewer Brew Stands 9 02-15-2010 09:14 PM
Johnson Controls A419 with mini fridge fotomatt1 Fermenters 5 06-11-2009 03:04 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS