Coopers Brew Kits...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jmcdaniel0

Reaction score
SO I bought the coopers starter kit, made the lager that was included, and as I expected, it was good, but not really good. Not even close to great.

So my question is this:

Are the other Coopers Kits any better. I like all types of Beer. So any suggestions on their kits would be great.

I am considering the English Bitter, the Irish Stout, and the Real Ale packages. Has anyone used these straight out of the *box*? and How good are they?

Also, Are there better kits out there? I am just getting started into home brewing, and I want to Keep it Simple for now, so I am sticking to the ready to go kits.

I will say however, I started with a Mr. Beer, that was gave to me used by my friend from college, and I wasnt to impressed. I got the Coopers Home Brew Kit as an upgrade, and I gotta say, everything looks well made, and has the feel of quality to it. I havent used it but once, so, I could be wrong... Any Coopers users out there care to comment on that?

I am not familiar with the coopers kits, but their ingredient kits are generally no boil, pre-hopped "kit and a kilo"-type kits which can make decent beer, but are the lowest tier in terms of flexibility and quality in terms of the taste of the final product - comparable to the Mr. Beer stuff that I myself got started with.

I would go ahead and switch to extract with steeping grains and "real" hop additions, purchased from a local homebrew store or one of the many reputable online dealers like Northern Brewer. Those give you many more options and usually produce better results as well.