Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Any Siemens PLC programmers out there?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-23-2011, 02:35 AM   #1
dtfeld
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 111
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Any Siemens PLC programmers out there?

Have an S7-1200 with 2 4x RTD inputs modules. I've got the basics down but I'd did Omron 10-15 years ago and could use a little help with some of the functions and terminology of Siemens.


dtfeld is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 02:38 AM   #2
Wberry
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 68
Default

What are you looking to do?


__________________
Drinking: American Amber, Kolsch-Style, American Blonde
Bottled: Falconers Flight IPA, Falconers Flight IPA w/Raspberries, AG BIAB Kolsch-Style
Primary: AG Kolsch-Style #2
On Deck: Bee Cave Haus Pale on Peaches
Wberry is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 01:18 PM   #3
dtfeld
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 111
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

I've got a lot of questions!!! Ive been reading their manuals and working some basic functions but the PID and tuning it are killing me.

Really I been looking for some sample ladder to see how it's done and go from there.

The scope of the project is to control 2 pumps and 2 heaters on my single tier Hermes system. The firm ware isn't there yet but eventually I'd like to use the web server function with WinCC on a laptop to act as a virtual HMI.

Problem right now is I just haven't hit the critical mass of Siemens knowledge to pull this off just yet.

I speak ancient Japanese, not new age German!
dtfeld is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 01:28 PM   #4
BrewKnurd
Formerly discnjh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
BrewKnurd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Prairieville, LA
Posts: 2,766
Liked 243 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 112

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtfeld
I've got a lot of questions!!! Ive been reading their manuals and working some basic functions but the PID and tuning it are killing me.

Really I been looking for some sample ladder to see how it's done and go from there.

The scope of the project is to control 2 pumps and 2 heaters on my single tier Hermes system. The firm ware isn't there yet but eventually I'd like to use the web server function with WinCC on a laptop to act as a virtual HMI.

Problem right now is I just haven't hit the critical mass of Siemens knowledge to pull this off just yet.

I speak ancient Japanese, not new age German!
I work as a control systems engineer, so PID control and tuning are part of my job. :-p haven't had specific experience with siemens plcs but have dealt with others. I'm willing to help if I can.
__________________
Fake it til you make it.
BrewKnurd is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 03:29 PM   #5
dtfeld
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 111
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

The biggest issue right now is how to input the setpoint for the PID. The PID element sets up a database but I can't find a way to just drop a value into it.

I think there must be a data move function but I have been unable to find or understand how that's done
dtfeld is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2011, 04:41 PM   #6
BrewKnurd
Formerly discnjh
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
BrewKnurd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Prairieville, LA
Posts: 2,766
Liked 243 Times on 201 Posts
Likes Given: 112

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dtfeld
The biggest issue right now is how to input the setpoint for the PID. The PID element sets up a database but I can't find a way to just drop a value into it.

I think there must be a data move function but I have been unable to find or understand how that's done
Yeah, that's probably more siemens specific than I'm gonna be able to help with. Most plcs I've dealt with, you would either create a local variable and link it up to the pid block, or click on the input to the block and define it there. Are you using function blocks?
__________________
Fake it til you make it.
BrewKnurd is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 03:34 PM   #7
dtfeld
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: ATL, GA
Posts: 111
Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

The Manuals and functions must be new...this isn't much help.


Click image for larger version

Name:	Capture.jpg
Views:	134
Size:	14.6 KB
ID:	22398  
dtfeld is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS