Distribution block, what to get? - Page 2 - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Distribution block, what to get?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2011, 07:13 AM   #11
blackalice82
Recipes 
 
Mar 2011
Orlando, FL
Posts: 5

Quote:
Originally Posted by lschiavo View Post
I am looking myself. Here is one option I found.

http://www.elecdirect.com/catalog/80...5828651cc.aspx
Nice find.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2011, 03:27 PM   #12
Monster Mash
Recipes 
 
Apr 2006
Castaic, CA
Posts: 1,323
Liked 91 Times on 70 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by lschiavo View Post
Looks nice. Any issues using the back plate as the heat sink for the ssr's?
There is a heat sink behind the plate but the SSR's don't really get hot.
__________________
My 1BBL Brewery Pics

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 05:07 PM   #13
bruin_ale
Recipes 
 
May 2009
Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,436
Liked 21 Times on 21 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Walker View Post
I chose to use modular DIN rail mounted terminal blocks for my power distribution. They were cheaper than the big brick type distribution blocks and gave me the flexibility of adding more modules later if I need to.

My entire 50A distribution block (ground + two hots + neutral) cost me about $8 or so.

I put links to the pieces and parts I used, all from mouser.com, in this post
I used the same ones, but bought mine from factorymation... darn, wish I'd seen your post before I bought mine cuz factorymation only sells full boxes of terminal blocks. I can build about 3 more control panels with the supply I've got. I may sell some on here to recoup some of the cost.. I have a BCS controlling the whole thing, so I may end up building another panel for my serving and fermentation temps, nice to have extra on hand for that.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 05:20 PM   #14
rcm_rx7
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Moscow, ID
Posts: 196
Liked 8 Times on 4 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by bbognerks View Post
I would get 30 Amp rated ones. Radio shack sells terminal strips that are supposedly 20 amps, but they look wimpy compared to the 30 amp strips I got from Home Depot.
If I were only those terminal strips for one phase of the 240v system would the amperage going through still be the total of what I'm using (~24a at %100). I would use two terminal strips, one for each phase, so does that effectively cut the amperage on each phase in half?
__________________
Fermenting: Bells Two Hearted Clone
On Deck: Mac & Jacks
Kegged: Centennial Blonde, Citra Pale Ale, Milk Stout
Fermentation Chamber Project
Wooden Brewstand Build

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 05:34 PM   #15
bruin_ale
Recipes 
 
May 2009
Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,436
Liked 21 Times on 21 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by rcm_rx7 View Post
If I were only those terminal strips for one phase of the 240v system would the amperage going through still be the total of what I'm using (~24a at %100). I would use two terminal strips, one for each phase, so does that effectively cut the amperage on each phase in half?
No, the current going across each one is still 24a. Suppose you had a 5500W element - that would draw ~23A at 240v. That's being supplied by two phases of 120V. So each one would need to supply 2750W.

2750W/120v = ~23A

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2011, 06:31 PM   #16
rcm_rx7
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Moscow, ID
Posts: 196
Liked 8 Times on 4 Posts


Ok, that makes sense. Thanks for clearing it up!
__________________
Fermenting: Bells Two Hearted Clone
On Deck: Mac & Jacks
Kegged: Centennial Blonde, Citra Pale Ale, Milk Stout
Fermentation Chamber Project
Wooden Brewstand Build

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump