Temp sensor fluctuation - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Temp sensor fluctuation

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-11-2011, 02:42 AM   #1
Layne
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
Gonzales, Louisiana
Posts: 964
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts



I need to calibrate mt temp sensors on my new rig.
I am using Brewershardware sensors with a BCS.
The first problem I ran across, was the temps fuctuating approx 7 degrees.
With the sensor in an insulated mug,with ice water, My old digital thermometer stays steady 37.5 degrees, BUT, the temps read by th BCS change a few tenths at a time, and over the course of maybe 30 to 45 seconds (didn't time it)it went from 33 degrees to 40 degrees and back.
Any advise?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 12:25 PM   #2
MalFet
/bɪər nɜrd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
MalFet's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,632
Liked 1474 Times on 975 Posts


It sounds like you're picking up noise, but I hesitate to say that because the brewershardware stuff tends to be really well made.

Are all of your connections good and clean? Is your probe and wire away from anything that would generate noise?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 02:02 PM   #3
Layne
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
Gonzales, Louisiana
Posts: 964
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts


I don't know where it could pick up anything.
Last nights test, nothing was running except the BCS. No elements,no pumps, nuttin.
The rig is not near any other applainces, ect.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 02:36 PM   #4
eccsynd
control freak
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
eccsynd's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2008
Minnesota
Posts: 172
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Did you update the temperature probe settings for the Brewers Hardware probes? The BCS ships w/ coefficients that match our probes, the BH probes have their own set. If you try to use settings that don't match the probes you'll get erroneous readings.
http://www.brewershardware.com/tempe...tructions.html
__________________
BCS-460 Temperature Controller - Interactive web based interface, data logging, and programmable control rules.
http://www.embeddedcc.com
Become an ECC fan on Facebook

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 02:46 PM   #5
Boerderij_Kabouter
 
Boerderij_Kabouter's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Posts: 7,750
Liked 148 Times on 120 Posts


Hmmm.... the sensor wires run through a DB25 cable along with the trigger lines for the SSR's. That DB25 is shielded though so it shouldn't be picking up any noise, and all the lines are low voltage DC.

maybe try using the coefficients from Derrin again and see what happens.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 06:31 PM   #6
Brewers Hardware
Sponsor
HBT_SPONSOR.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Huntington Beach, CA, 92649
Posts: 453
Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts


Thanks for the compliment Malfet!

Layne, I sent you the actual spec sheet from Vishay on the thermistors used to build the probes and the coefficients I came up with and have been using are here: BCS Temperature Probe Instructions

If there does turn out to be a problem with my sensors I'll get them replaced asap.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 06:48 PM   #7
Layne
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
Gonzales, Louisiana
Posts: 964
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts


Is it typical for the temp to 'move'?
My handheld digital thermometer stays steady for minutes ant a time, but all 4 of the temps on my BCS creep up and down. This can't be right.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 06:53 PM   #8
MalFet
/bɪər nɜrd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
MalFet's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,632
Liked 1474 Times on 975 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Layne View Post
Is it typical for the temp to 'move'?
My handheld digital thermometer stays steady for minutes ant a time, but all 4 of the temps on my BCS creep up and down. This can't be right.
It depends what you mean by move. In fully analog systems, there will always be a little bit of noise, and even in digital terms you can expect to see a sensor flip-flop a high and low bit when between readings. That should be small, though. How much depends on your system, but generally it should be less than a degree (possibly much less). Your digital thermometer has this too, though it might have some kind of display hysteresis to prevent you from seeing it. If you are getting a 7 degree swing, something is wrong.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 06:55 PM   #9
Layne
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Sep 2008
Gonzales, Louisiana
Posts: 964
Liked 19 Times on 17 Posts


Just looking at every possibility.
I have wireless surround sound in the brewroom. Could that possibly cause interference?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 07:00 PM   #10
MalFet
/bɪər nɜrd/
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
MalFet's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2010
NYC / Kathmandu
Posts: 8,632
Liked 1474 Times on 975 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Layne View Post
Just looking at every possibility.
I have wireless surround sound in the brewroom. Could that possibly cause interference?
I guess in theory, but (like Boerderij mentioned) it seems unlikely if everything is shielded. My money is on some kind of configuration error or some kind of power stability problem. I'm not very familiar with the BCS, though, so I'll leave that for others to speculate.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quick disconnect temperature sensor for BCS460 wardenwheat Electric Brewing 13 06-27-2012 04:07 AM
BCS temp probe bullywee Electric Brewing 2 02-23-2011 03:34 PM
PID and I2C Temperature Sensor? TriangleIL Electric Brewing 17 02-22-2011 09:49 PM
Electric HLT temp. controller Steven9026 Electric Brewing 5 02-04-2011 12:11 PM
temperature sensor to 10 bit ADC cheese Electric Brewing 10 12-14-2010 07:55 PM


Forum Jump