Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Two with One
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2011, 02:57 AM   #11
redman67
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
 
redman67's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Taunton, MA
Posts: 419
Liked 19 Times on 16 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

i used the connectors at auberins.com for the HLT/BK PID when I switch my power cord from vessel to vessel I switch the temp probe cord


__________________
Because God hates it when you drink bad beer
redman67 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 07:13 PM   #12
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,244
Liked 97 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcm_rx7 View Post
Yeah that's true. My reason for wanting it is only to see how close to boil I'm getting, and maybe to monitor temps during cooling and whirlpool. Might now be worth the hassle, and extra hole in the Kettle.
If you are using RTDs, you could put a 3-pole, double throw switch (3PDT) in the box to select one probe or the other. RTDs are more tolerant to long wires and switches/connectors in their path than thermocouples are, so it would probably work.

But, remember.... each temp probe might (probably?) have a static error on it. I've used a couple of different probes and they all had different error values, from 0.5*F to 2.5*F. You can program the PID to account for the error, but if you are switching probes, then they could each have different error values.

But, if the BK probe is just to estimate how close to a boil you are and how close to pitching temps you are, then maybe the error on that probe can jus tbe left as an error and you can tune the PID for the other probe.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS