Ss Brewtech’s Biggest Baddest Holiday Giveaway Ever!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Two with One
Thread Tools
Old 02-28-2011, 02:57 AM   #11
Feedback Score: 12 reviews
redman67's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Taunton, MA
Posts: 402
Liked 20 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 8


i used the connectors at for the HLT/BK PID when I switch my power cord from vessel to vessel I switch the temp probe cord

Because God hates it when you drink bad beer
redman67 is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 07:13 PM   #12
I use secondaries. :p
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Walker's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 10,983
Liked 98 Times on 87 Posts
Likes Given: 11


Originally Posted by rcm_rx7 View Post
Yeah that's true. My reason for wanting it is only to see how close to boil I'm getting, and maybe to monitor temps during cooling and whirlpool. Might now be worth the hassle, and extra hole in the Kettle.
If you are using RTDs, you could put a 3-pole, double throw switch (3PDT) in the box to select one probe or the other. RTDs are more tolerant to long wires and switches/connectors in their path than thermocouples are, so it would probably work.

But, remember.... each temp probe might (probably?) have a static error on it. I've used a couple of different probes and they all had different error values, from 0.5*F to 2.5*F. You can program the PID to account for the error, but if you are switching probes, then they could each have different error values.

But, if the BK probe is just to estimate how close to a boil you are and how close to pitching temps you are, then maybe the error on that probe can jus tbe left as an error and you can tune the PID for the other probe.
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Forum Jump

Newest Threads