Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Two with One
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2011, 08:28 PM   #1
Double-R
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Newburgh,NY
Posts: 316
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default Two with One

Want to control 2, 5500w elements with "ONE" Pid.. dont know if its been covered, if so point the way.


Double-R is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 08:46 PM   #2
burglar
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Detroit
Posts: 58
Default

Do you mean using the same PID to work both the MLT and boil kettle?

I'm curious if anyone has done a switched RTD probe input. I'd think it would increase the chance of making a mistake, but a good question.


burglar is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 10:34 PM   #3
Double-R
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Newburgh,NY
Posts: 316
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Yes, Both the way i see it 2 SSr and 2 rtd sensors , just detach rtd from HLT plug into boil kettle . The 2 SSr's would be the thing to figure out. Maybe connect both to PID???
Double-R is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 11:46 PM   #4
Squeeky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 513
Liked 18 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Double-R

I'm doing just that with my setup, check out my thread. Simple eHERMS with P-J schematics. Something like that, just to lazy to link since on my phone.
Squeeky is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 12:14 AM   #5
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 293 Times on 230 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Double-R View Post
Want to control 2, 5500w elements with "ONE" Pid.. dont know if its been covered, if so point the way.
Squeeky's Diagram:

Auberin-wiring1-a4-4500w-30c.jpg
Auberin-wiring1-a4-5500w-30b.jpg

The temp probe stays in the HLT. Don't move it. The PID gets switched to manual mode to control the boil. BTW - you only need one SSR as the element switch is a double poll - double throw - center off switch.
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 01:01 AM   #6
Double-R
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Newburgh,NY
Posts: 316
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

THANK YOUUUUUUUUUUUUU. I'am in. EVER BODY TO
Double-R is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 01:04 AM   #7
Squeeky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 513
Liked 18 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Double-R feel free to shoot me a PM if you have questions. P-J walked me through a lot so if you have questions I probably have answers. Currently awaiting a free day to build my control panel. I decided recently that I want to mount my march pump in a toolbox with the panel.

If you looking to save costs, I recommend batch sparging so you only have 1 pump. There is also the option on 2 tiers, one pump, fly sparge.
Squeeky is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 01:42 AM   #8
rcm_rx7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 196
Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Is there any reason you couldn't use two thermocouples and use a switch so I would be able to see temps in both the HLT and BK?
__________________
Fermenting: Bells Two Hearted Clone
On Deck: Mac & Jacks
Kegged: Centennial Blonde, Citra Pale Ale, Milk Stout
Fermentation Chamber Project
Wooden Brewstand Build
rcm_rx7 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 01:52 AM   #9
P-J
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 3,335
Liked 293 Times on 230 Posts
Likes Given: 496

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcm_rx7 View Post
Is there any reason you couldn't use two thermocouples and use a switch so I would be able to see temps in both the HLT and BK?
You could do that - But - why bother with the boil kettle temp? Water simmer boils at 212F & a very vigirous boil is also at 212F.
P-J is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2011, 02:33 AM   #10
rcm_rx7
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 196
Liked 6 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by P-J
You could do that - But - why bother with the boil kettle temp? Water simmer boils at 212F & a very vigirous boil is also at 212F.
Yeah that's true. My reason for wanting it is only to see how close to boil I'm getting, and maybe to monitor temps during cooling and whirlpool. Might now be worth the hassle, and extra hole in the Kettle.


__________________
Fermenting: Bells Two Hearted Clone
On Deck: Mac & Jacks
Kegged: Centennial Blonde, Citra Pale Ale, Milk Stout
Fermentation Chamber Project
Wooden Brewstand Build
rcm_rx7 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS