Anyone using PLC's? - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Anyone using PLC's?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-26-2011, 04:34 AM   #1
TrevorRuggiero
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Boston, MA
Posts: 11


There are some sweet electric brew rigs that people are posting up on these forums. One thing I have not seen a lot of though are PLCs. Has anyone played around with using PLCs in their brew rigs?

I am currently building my rig with an automation direct DL06 PLC. I will post some pictures and how to's when I am done. In the mean time though I would be interested to hear what other peoples experiences have been with using PLC's or other programable controllers.

Cheers,

-T

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 03:39 PM   #2
941MxVet
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Winnemucca, NV
Posts: 21

I don't have an all grain set-up yet, but when I do build mine I'd like to use a PLC to control it.

I am thinking of using a Modicon Momentum, or possibly an AB Micrologic.

I believe using PLC's would be far better then using single loop controllers.

JMHO

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 12:29 AM   #3
SOB
 
SOB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2006
Delaware, OH
Posts: 931
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


I built mine with an AB SLC500 that was given to me. I actually just did my wet test today and will be brewing for the first time tomorrow. I'll be posting the pics shortly...I'll link to the thread when I'm done.

A PLC is overkill (if you ask me) but when it's free and is what you do for a living if kinda makes sense...

EDIT: here's the link http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f170/sob...6/#post2684943
__________________
"So we were slammin' beers in the church parking lot..."

"I'm much too young to feel this damn old"

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 12:37 AM   #4
kladue
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2006
Turner, Oregon, Oregon most of the time now
Posts: 2,305
Liked 53 Times on 47 Posts


I am running Opto 22 PLC hardware with a custom .Net application that manages the brew process from recipe to fermenter for a steam injection RIMS system. The hardware has grown to about 40 analog and 32 digital points, with more planned to support auto measure malt system.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 01:01 AM   #5
SOB
 
SOB's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2006
Delaware, OH
Posts: 931
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by kladue View Post
I am running Opto 22 PLC hardware with a custom .Net application that manages the brew process from recipe to fermenter for a steam injection RIMS system. The hardware has grown to about 40 analog and 32 digital points, with more planned to support auto measure malt system.
PICs\Info please! This sounds pretty awesome...
__________________
"So we were slammin' beers in the church parking lot..."

"I'm much too young to feel this damn old"

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 01:07 AM   #6
ClaudiusB
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,354
Liked 100 Times on 77 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by TrevorRuggiero View Post
Has anyone played around with using PLCs in their brew rigs?

I am currently building my rig with an automation direct DL06 PLC. I will post
Cheers,
I am using two DL06, one 05 and some Siemens PLC's.


Cheers,
ClaudiusB

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 01:43 AM   #7
kladue
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2006
Turner, Oregon, Oregon most of the time now
Posts: 2,305
Liked 53 Times on 47 Posts


Here is the current system schematic https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...88834702655394.
Here are some of the hardware schematicshttps://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.ladue/Schematics#
and a picture of the first panel https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...53722278984738
The second panel with the touch screen PC and other boards https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...67138764297570
and an older picture that is a couple revisions behind https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...53726957372914
This was designed and built to operate indoors with vented combustion and only take up 4' X 8' of floor space.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 04:51 AM   #8
TrevorRuggiero
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Boston, MA
Posts: 11

Quote:
Originally Posted by kladue View Post
Here is the current system schematic https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...88834702655394.
Here are some of the hardware schematicshttps://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.ladue/Schematics#
and a picture of the first panel https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...53722278984738
The second panel with the touch screen PC and other boards https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...67138764297570
and an older picture that is a couple revisions behind https://picasaweb.google.com/kevin.l...53726957372914
This was designed and built to operate indoors with vented combustion and only take up 4' X 8' of floor space.
That is a bad ass looking set up! So how much of the process have you successfully automated? Looking at some of your diagrams and the auto feed hoppers it looks like all you need in order to brew is a web connection. Nice work!

-T

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 02:06 PM   #9
kladue
Senior Member
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Dec 2006
Turner, Oregon, Oregon most of the time now
Posts: 2,305
Liked 53 Times on 47 Posts


The auto feed hoppers have not been built yet, a prototype feeder has been built and tested, just have not built 8 chamber hopper yet. The rest of the automation is built and tested. To operate you do the recipe on the touch screen, add malt to hopper, hang hop bags, connect fermenter, touch auto run icon and walk away, all the water amounts were automatically calculated, and times were set in the recipe build. Other than a test batch to verify operation it has been idle while I work in Arizona and continue to improve the control application and add features.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2011, 04:38 PM   #10
941MxVet
Recipes 
 
Feb 2011
Winnemucca, NV
Posts: 21

Wow, thanks for sharing Kevin! Some of these set-ups look great.


...now I need to learn how to brew

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump