Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Recipes/Ingredients > How do I get started creating a recipe?

Old 01-31-2011, 07:58 PM   #1
jetmac
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 17 Times on 17 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default How do I get started creating a recipe?

There are thousands of recipes to be found in print and on the web. How does one learn to create a recipe? Formal school, informal school, books, video, online? Anything specific?

Revvy>>You shouldn't worry about ANYTHING, you didn't hurt the yeast, they know what they need to do, they want to eat all that sugar they are swimming around in. They want to pee alcohol and fart co2, it's their nature.

Bobby_M>>I flood the keg with CO2 for one minute with the lid off, rack the beer in to the bottom gently, seal it, flood it, vent it. If there's still O2 in there after that, F it.

Old 01-31-2011, 08:00 PM   #2
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 368 Times on 299 Posts
Likes Given: 499

trial and error.

brewing software helps.

Old 01-31-2011, 08:19 PM   #3
BellAub
Recipes 

Likes Given: 8

What I'm doing is incremental stages. I started out with kits. Now I am buying kits and add what I think might be good in them, as well as reading, and learning about the different effects that all the ingredients you want to use will have on your beer. Eventually I will start trying different thing with all the left over grains and ingredients that I have from all the experiments with kits.
Kegged: None yet
On Tap:Triple SB, Farm House Saison, Home bored Brew

Old 01-31-2011, 08:36 PM   #4
Hex
Recipes 

Liked 26 Times on 25 Posts
Likes Given: 26

Read books (Designing Great Beers), brew, ask lots of questions (Club, HBT, and/or LHBS), and take good notes.

You should develop your pallet as well. Trying as many different beers from around the world.

I'm making only SMaSH Marris Otter/EKG, and Castle Pilsen/Saaz, until I learn them and my system.