Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > To autotune or not?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2011, 12:09 PM   #1
redman67
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
 
redman67's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Taunton, MA
Posts: 408
Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default To autotune or not?

Im using the Auber syl 2352 with a 5500 watt element in a keggle with TC and am wondering if the autotune function is sufficient/optimal for setup or are people setting up there own parameters


redman67 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2011, 01:28 PM   #2
Poobah58
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
Poobah58's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: New Milford, CT
Posts: 2,273
Liked 61 Times on 54 Posts
Likes Given: 25

Default

The autotune sucks. You will get different results every time you run it.


__________________
Mead Lane Brewing
The liver is evil and must be punished
Poobah58 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 02:57 PM   #3
redman67
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
 
redman67's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Taunton, MA
Posts: 408
Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Could anyone provide the settings that they have had success with?
redman67 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 03:03 PM   #4
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_MODERATOR.png
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: ☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 22,025
Liked 4819 Times on 2881 Posts
Likes Given: 4043

Default

I autotuned mine and it seems perfect.
__________________
- Andrew
passedpawn is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 03:12 PM   #5
Reelale
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17,736
Liked 1374 Times on 1332 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by passedpawn
I autotuned mine and it seems perfect.
Me too.
Reelale is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 03:41 PM   #6
wildwest450
Registered User
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 9,099
Liked 170 Times on 155 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

It works for Kayne.


_
wildwest450 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 09:44 PM   #7
redman67
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 11 reviews
 
redman67's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Taunton, MA
Posts: 408
Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Thank you all, I will run the autotune and see how it works
redman67 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2011, 11:38 PM   #8
Dave258
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 699
Liked 9 Times on 9 Posts
Likes Given: 8

Default

Quick question, how long does the auto tune run, and does it stop itself? I tried to run my pid in auto tune while I was checking my system to make sure everything is water tight and set correct and it just kept blinking and never stopped. Is that correct?
__________________
Dave

Blitzkrieg Brewery
Dave258 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 12:08 AM   #9
Reelale
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17,736
Liked 1374 Times on 1332 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave258 View Post
Quick question, how long does the auto tune run, and does it stop itself? I tried to run my pid in auto tune while I was checking my system to make sure everything is water tight and set correct and it just kept blinking and never stopped. Is that correct?
IIRC, the autotune may take some time to run. Manual says 2-3 on/off cycles then the microprocessor determines the correct parameters. I'm pretty sure the blinking stops when it's complete. To manually exit, hold down the A/M key until the light stops blinking. This is the Auberins PID.
Reelale is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2011, 12:11 AM   #10
HarkinBanks
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 694
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts

Default

Mine took a long time to autotune, probably like 45 mins before it finished.


HarkinBanks is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools



Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS