Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Beginners Beer Brewing Forum > Milled Grain Shelf Life

Old 01-08-2011, 08:26 PM   #1
guppergoo
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Default Milled Grain Shelf Life

I just got some various malts milled up for my first batch of beer ever! I have dry extract and the various grain additives (which will be put in bags) needed for a nut brown. How long can I hang onto this milled grain before it starts to lose any of its punch or effectiveness? I am either going to brew tomorrow or next weekend. Being a newbie I want to make sure my first batch goes off as well as I can get it.

Thanks!

Old 01-08-2011, 10:05 PM   #2
ILuvIPA
Recipes 

Liked 5 Times on 5 Posts
Likes Given: 2

General concensus is brew as soon as possible after it's milled. This weekend/next is fine. If I was going to go longer than 1-2 weeks I personally would bag it & store in the freezer.

Old 01-08-2011, 10:42 PM   #3
storunner13
Recipes 

Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by ILuvIPA View Post
General concensus is brew as soon as possible after it's milled. This weekend/next is fine. If I was going to go longer than 1-2 weeks I personally would bag it & store in the freezer.
+1. I've gone even longer than 2 weeks and the beer turned out pretty well. That being said, it may have been even better had I not waited, but you shouldn't worry too much.

Old 01-08-2011, 10:43 PM   #4
Andy_LV
Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts

can you guys please elaborate on this matter? I dont own a mill (yet), so I get my grain all milled, wondering about storage - is it possible to extend shelf lifetime of milled grain by storing it cool or something?

Old 01-09-2011, 01:04 AM   #5
guppergoo
Recipes