Coldbreak Brewing HERMS Giveaway!

HomeBrewSupply AMCYL Brew Kettle Giveaway!


Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > DIY Projects > Brew Stands > Could you use your Electric BK like a RIMS
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2011, 01:17 AM   #1
bf514921
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central City
Posts: 311
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default Could you use your Electric BK like a RIMS

Just a thought. instead of building a seperate Rims coul you use an electric boil kettle if you kept the wort at a high enough level and circulating, anyone try it? just a thought. i have an electric bk and hlt and was pondering a rimms build, but started thinking, di i really need another element or not. just a thought, figured i would throw it out there and see what happend


bf514921 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 01:21 AM   #2
Reelale
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 17,736
Liked 1374 Times on 1332 Posts
Likes Given: 55

Default

I did the exact thing when I started. I used a cooler MLT and pumped out of the bk for recirculation. It wasn't electric, but I would fire up the burner to maintain mash temp. I still pump out of the bk with a RIMS. It's like a grant. The MLT drains, via gravity, into the BK and I pump out of there. So yes, it can be done.


Reelale is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 02:21 AM   #3
BeernuT100
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conway, AR
Posts: 216
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts
Likes Given: 14

Default

Doesn't seem practical. The RIMS isn't that much of a cost and doesnt require you to continue staring at the level of your pot to make sure you don't go lower than your element.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Laughing_Gnome_Invisible View Post
You can save on toilet paper by using both sides.
BeernuT100 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 03:57 AM   #4
Sawdustguy
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Manorville, New York
Posts: 2,781
Liked 33 Times on 28 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bf514921 View Post
Just a thought. instead of building a seperate Rims coul you use an electric boil kettle if you kept the wort at a high enough level and circulating, anyone try it? just a thought. i have an electric bk and hlt and was pondering a rimms build, but started thinking, di i really need another element or not. just a thought, figured i would throw it out there and see what happend
If instead of using your Boil Kettle you use your Hot Liquor Tank to do this you have a HERMS Brewery.
__________________
Guy
Sawdustguy is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 06:33 AM   #5
JuanMoore
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
JuanMoore's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: The Old Pueblo
Posts: 18,511
Liked 3375 Times on 3257 Posts
Likes Given: 20

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawdustguy View Post
If instead of using your Boil Kettle you use your Hot Liquor Tank to do this you have a HERMS Brewery.
Exactly what I was thinking.
JuanMoore is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 06:52 AM   #6
mattd2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Papamoa, New Zealand
Posts: 3,640
Liked 281 Times on 224 Posts
Likes Given: 56

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sawdustguy View Post
If instead of using your Boil Kettle you use your Hot Liquor Tank to do this you have a HERMS Brewery.
But that would require a herms coil and extra couplings in the HLT.
mattd2 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 02:07 PM   #7
jfkriege
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Bloomington, IN
Posts: 419
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

I have a two tank system and do just this. It works incredibly well. Rig is in the signature.

The one concern is letting the wort level drop below the elements. If you set it up correctly,though, this is not an issue.

Joshua
__________________
The Modular Electric Brewery
jfkriege is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 08:02 PM   #8
DeeDub76
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northwest, Missouri
Posts: 80
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

I have been lurking for sometime to gain knowledge for my own build. Simplicity is the goal for my build.
Anyways, maybe someone can enlighten me on this....now to relate to the OP it is my question as to what are the drawbacks to me eliminating a RIMS tube and placing a RTD and heating element in my MLT? Obviously use a pump to recirculate and a PID controller to maintain correct temperatures.

In a RIMS set up I have concerns that the temperature of the mash in the MLT may not be accurate due to the fact that the RTD is located in the RIMS tube. Wouldn't it make more sense to put the RTD in the MLT?

Also I apologize if this topic has been ran into the ground or discussed already. I'm still a grasshopper!
DeeDub76 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 08:15 PM   #9
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Cary, NC
Posts: 11,244
Liked 97 Times on 86 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeDub76 View Post
to relate to the OP it is my question as to what are the drawbacks to me eliminating a RIMS tube and placing a RTD and heating element in my MLT? Obviously use a pump to recirculate and a PID controller to maintain correct temperatures.
An element directly in the mash will likely scorch the grain and give you some bad flavors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeeDub76 View Post
In a RIMS set up I have concerns that the temperature of the mash in the MLT may not be accurate due to the fact that the RTD is located in the RIMS tube. Wouldn't it make more sense to put the RTD in the MLT?
RIMS (or HERMS with probe at output of the coil) are monitoring and maintaining the temp of the wort that is going back into the top of your MLT. If you keep that return at your set temp, and you keep circulating, the whole of the mash will be at the set temp with some minor variation.

When I first built my HERMS, I wanted to see how accurate things were, so I put two thermometers in the MLT. One was a digital probe in a thermowell near the top of the grain bed. The other was a glass thermometer that I put directly into the mash and pushed it down so that the tip was sitting on the false bottom in the MLT.

And, of course, there was also the temp readout from the probe at the return to the MLT as a third reference.

During my mash, I checked all three thermometers every 10 minutes or so to see how things looked.

The largest difference I ever saw between the three thermometers was 1*F. That satisfied my curiosity about whether my probe location was getting the job done.

In general, you want the probe near, but AFTER, the heat source so that you don't overshoot. For RIMS, this is the RIMS heater output. For HERMS, this is either the HERMS coil output or directly in the MLT.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.
Walker is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2011, 08:25 PM   #10
DeeDub76
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northwest, Missouri
Posts: 80
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Ok it seems like the temperature variance measured at different locations isn't enough to be of concern.

So if it is a matter of scorching the grain and producing bad flavors as a result....what if your heating element was placed under the false bottom in the MLT?


DeeDub76 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another RIMs in a box BrewSpook Brew Stands 28 10-06-2010 04:51 PM
Single-tier propane/electric HERMS/RIMS rig?!!!??! Cyan Brew Stands 27 09-03-2010 03:47 PM
To RIMS or not to RIMS...that is the question. Dgonza9 Brew Stands 12 08-24-2010 10:01 PM
propane heated HLT, electric rims tube combo kcinpdx Brew Stands 2 04-13-2010 01:55 AM
RIMS set up! slnies Brew Stands 75 04-30-2009 12:10 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS