Odd GFCI Connections? - Page 2 - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Odd GFCI Connections?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-22-2010, 11:48 PM   #11
ScubaSteve
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,677
Liked 83 Times on 57 Posts


I was hoping to protect the dryer outlet upstairs, but also create an outlet in the garage while I'm at it....and have it protected as well. But, as you mentioned....looks like 1 gfci per circuit.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2010, 11:55 PM   #12
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaSteve View Post
I was hoping to protect the dryer outlet upstairs, but also create an outlet in the garage while I'm at it....and have it protected as well. But, as you mentioned....looks like 1 gfci per circuit.
No... that's not what I said.

If you put a GFI breaker in the panel, the wires coming out of it will be GFI protected. You can run those wires anywhere, even to multiple places.

So, you could come out of the GFI breaker and connect to two outlets. One for the dryer upstairs and one for a new outlet in the garage. Both would be GFI protected. (edit: note that your dryer and brewery together will probably draw more than 30A, so your breaker would trip if both things were running at the same time.)

Extreme example of GFI protecting everything downstream:

At my place, my MAIN panel is outside the house. It has a 50A breaker for the central air unit and another 50A breaker the stove, and then it has a 100A breaker in it that feeds a sub-panel in the garage. Every other circuit in my house is driven from the subpanel, sharing the 100A that the main allows to flow to the subpanel.

I could take out the 100A breaker in the main panel and put in a 100A GFI breaker. That would mean that the wires going to the subpanel (and then on to everything else in my house except that central air and stove) would be GFI protected.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:01 AM   #13
ClaudiusB
Recipes 
 
Dec 2007
El Paso, Texas
Posts: 1,350
Liked 99 Times on 76 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaSteve View Post
What if I get 2 cheaper single pole models and break both legs that way?
Not advisable without the required conversion parts.
The bare minimum is the trip mechanism, small plastic part which connects between the two circuit breakers and the connecting clip for the front levers.
Doing it without the parts will keep one side hot to neutral if only one breaker trips or is turned off.


Cheers,
ClaudiusB

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:13 AM   #14
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Posts: 2,067
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaSteve View Post
I guess I meant a GFCI for each hot.

A couple more questions:

1. So what kind of GFCI's DON'T have these kind of panel connects?
2. Can I sell my existing GFCI, buy a Cutler Hammer, put it in my panel, and have it protect BOTH my dryer outlet and an outlet in the garage?
I found (on ebay) and then sold a 240v, 30a GFCI Cord.
That would get the gfci out of your box, and make it portable. I just took a quick look and did not see them on ebay any longer.

I think it was a power cord for a xerox copier or something...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:17 AM   #15
ScubaSteve
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,677
Liked 83 Times on 57 Posts


Are these external inline breakers 4 wire? I think they'd have to be if they include a neutral.....

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:19 AM   #16
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Posts: 2,067
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaSteve View Post
Are these external inline breakers 4 wire? I think they'd have to be if they include a neutral.....
The one I had was.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:29 AM   #17
ExHempKnight
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Roanoke
Posts: 117
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


I just received one of those inline GFCI cables off eBay. I must have gotten the last one. Guess I got lucky.

Though I thought the auction said there were 2 or 3 available... Guess not. Sorry Steve.
__________________
Patched Kettle Brewery

"Drilling more holes than we need to, since 2010."

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:32 AM   #18
ScubaSteve
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,677
Liked 83 Times on 57 Posts


PM sent.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 12:36 AM   #19
ExHempKnight
Recipes 
 
Oct 2010
Roanoke
Posts: 117
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


PM answered.
__________________
Patched Kettle Brewery

"Drilling more holes than we need to, since 2010."

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2010, 01:00 AM   #20
ScubaSteve
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,677
Liked 83 Times on 57 Posts


What about THIS one? Looks like it's a DIN rail mountable breaker without the funky bussbar connectors. Should be able to be installed inline....but I can't tell the rating. The info makes it look like it's multi-use?

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GFCI keeps blowing Cybershadow Electric Brewing 51 12-22-2010 06:14 PM
my take on covering the heating element connections Broncobum Electric Brewing 30 11-05-2010 06:25 PM
Show me your waterproof heatstick connections CoalCracker Electric Brewing 3 10-27-2010 08:42 PM
GFCI wiring? ExHempKnight Electric Brewing 5 10-23-2010 08:53 PM
Multiple GFCI wiring question Cpt_Kirks Electric Brewing 8 10-20-2010 03:22 PM


Forum Jump