Ss Brewtech’s Biggest Baddest Holiday Giveaway Ever!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Range extension cord>outlet>inline gfi
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2010, 09:48 PM   #1
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 320
Liked 13 Times on 5 Posts

Default Range extension cord>outlet>inline gfi

I brewed this Monday while it was snowing and windy and I really don't want to do that again. I've been looking into electrical brewing and would like to know if this would work.

My range outlet in the kitchen is connected to a 40 amp breaker. But the outlet is a NEMA 14-50. I will not be using over 25 amps for a 5500w element and pump(23a + 2a=25). Could I plug this range extension cord into the existing NEMA 14-50 outlet, wire a NEMA 14-30 outlet in a gangbox to the extension, plug in an inline GFI and hook that up to my respective bus bars in my control panel?

snail is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 11:19 PM   #2
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: portland
Posts: 628
Liked 6 Times on 6 Posts
Likes Given: 2


You could, but it wouldn't be safe. That inline GFCI is rated at 30A. I just got mine in the mail. Because the breaker could possibly feed 40A to it if there's a short before your downstream circuit protection, a meltdown could occur. You should install a 30A breaker or fuse before the GFCI cord.

trigger is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 03:37 PM   #3
Boar Beer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Boar Beer's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Central NH, NH
Posts: 527
Liked 17 Times on 14 Posts


Your going to love brewing with an electric system. If you can push forward a bit and wire up a 30A GFI breaker and hard wire your self an outlet.

This is my set up
I had to install a separate box to hold the 30A GFI so its not as good as putting the GFI in the house breaker box. The outlet is 50A so i needed the 30A protection.
Click image for larger version

Name:	100_1679.jpg
Views:	1293
Size:	51.2 KB
ID:	18292  
I was married for 10 years before my wife knew I drank.
Then one day I made a mistake and came home from work sober
Boar Beer is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 03:01 PM   #4
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: york, pa
Posts: 92
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


i would check the gauge of the wire feeding the 40 amp breaker. they might of used a 40 breaker but is 50amp wire. if so i would change the breaker to a 50 amp gfci.
rianrt is offline
Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2010, 04:22 PM   #5
Vendor and Brewer
Vendor Ads 
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Bobby_M's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Whitehouse Station, NJ
Posts: 22,612
Liked 1393 Times on 914 Posts
Likes Given: 35


Well, that's the $60 question isn't it. Can you figure out what the wire gauge is that is going into the 40amp breaker? If it's 6 gauge, you could put a 50amp breaker in and run an inline spa panel to get your GFI. The typical non-GFI 50a breaker is about $15 and the spa panel is another $50. If your main panel by some chance is a General Electric, you may be able to directly put the spa panel's GFI breaker in. If not, you'll find a standalone 50a GFI breaker is way over $100. I have no idea why.

Welcome to I love you.
New 100% Stainless Steel Heating Elements are IN! ULWD 5500w Ripple, 2000w, 1500w, etc
Chugger Pumps, Pump Kits, Camlocks, Sightglasses, Clear USA made Silicone Tubing, RIMS, Electric Install Parts, etc.
Bobby_M is offline
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12gauge extension cord rated at only 15Amps Scut_Monkey Electric Brewing 23 04-25-2011 06:01 PM
2 Pole GFCI Breaker With 4 Wire Cord? ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 8 02-08-2011 07:37 PM
How much power is available at the outlet? SenorWanderer Electric Brewing 9 02-08-2011 04:57 AM
3 Prong Range Outlet Chefkeith Electric Brewing 5 11-29-2010 04:00 PM
Laundry Outlet? ZWood15 Electric Brewing 13 10-19-2010 04:53 AM

Forum Jump

Newest Threads