Auber Sous Vide Controller - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Auber Sous Vide Controller

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-08-2010, 08:13 PM   #1
DKershner
 
DKershner's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
Bend, OR
Posts: 1,870
Liked 28 Times on 23 Posts



I have this: http://www.auberins.com/index.php?ma...badd2ad1edf706

I was thinking about building a smaller, electric, more automated brewery for when I am feeling lazy, or for brewing 2 beers at the same time, so long as I can do it for cheap.

Which brings me to my question, what is the maximum wattage I could control with this controller? 1500w? Can I even use it?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 10:17 PM   #2
JayInJersey
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
JayInJersey's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2009
New Jersey
Posts: 594
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Looks like it has a standard 110 plug built into it...so I'd assume 1500w would work.

But then again...I'm no electrician.
__________________
Hazard Brewing

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 11:15 PM   #3
trigger
 
trigger's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
portland
Posts: 629
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts


It says in the specs that it's rated to 15A. That translates to 1650W at 110V. The only issue there is that with a 1500W element you will be near the limit of that circuit's breaker if it's on a 15A circuit and you may run into problems with nuisance trips. Otherwise you could use it to control a heatstick pretty easily.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 11:56 PM   #4
DKershner
 
DKershner's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
Bend, OR
Posts: 1,870
Liked 28 Times on 23 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by trigger View Post
It says in the specs that it's rated to 15A. That translates to 1650W at 110V. The only issue there is that with a 1500W element you will be near the limit of that circuit's breaker if it's on a 15A circuit and you may run into problems with nuisance trips. Otherwise you could use it to control a heatstick pretty easily.
Well, I am pretty sure the circuit breaker the outlet I would be using is a 20A (in the garage, new house).

I would be mildly concerned about the breaker/relay/whatever inside the auber box though...should I not be?

If I should be, I wonder if it is replaceable with a higher amp unit...

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 12:09 AM   #5
trigger
 
trigger's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
portland
Posts: 629
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts


I don't know about replacing it, I'm sure you could email Auber and see what they say. As far as worrying about it, if you run a 1500W 110V element through it I imagine it'll shorten it's life, but then again it's rated for 15A, so it should function fine.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 12:12 AM   #6
DKershner
 
DKershner's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
Bend, OR
Posts: 1,870
Liked 28 Times on 23 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by trigger View Post
I don't know about replacing it, I'm sure you could email Auber and see what they say. As far as worrying about it, if you run a 1500W 110V element through it I imagine it'll shorten it's life, but then again it's rated for 15A, so it should function fine.
Thanks for the help!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 12:58 PM   #7
SankePankey
 
SankePankey's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Hudson Valley, New York
Posts: 905
Liked 18 Times on 12 Posts


Why not just get an induction element from Vallrath or Cooktek. That's basically what those things are minus the element.

The highest wattage you can get without jumping to 220V is 1800W. After that they go up to 3500W. Your kettles may take to induction. Some do.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 04:15 PM   #8
DKershner
 
DKershner's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
Bend, OR
Posts: 1,870
Liked 28 Times on 23 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by SankePankey View Post
Why not just get an induction element from Vallrath or Cooktek. That's basically what those things are minus the element.

The highest wattage you can get without jumping to 220V is 1800W. After that they go up to 3500W. Your kettles may take to induction. Some do.
Interested in your idea, I walked around with a magnet this morning. The pot I was thinking of using, a 7.5gal aluminum Bayou classic, was not magnetic. My 15.5gal Stainless bayou's were though.

I can only find $500ish induction elements, are these the ones you were talking about?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 12:09 AM   #9
SankePankey
 
SankePankey's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Hudson Valley, New York
Posts: 905
Liked 18 Times on 12 Posts


Yeah they are pricey unless you can find the right deal on CL.

Check this thread:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/anyo...ml#post2002759

 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2010, 12:25 AM   #10
DKershner
 
DKershner's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jul 2009
Bend, OR
Posts: 1,870
Liked 28 Times on 23 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by SankePankey View Post
Yeah they are pricey unless you can find the right deal on CL.

Check this thread:

http://www.homebrewtalk.com/f11/anyo...ml#post2002759
Yeah, I saw the thread before, and remember wanting it for my kitchen. Unfortunately my all-clad stuff was not magnetic.

It would have to be a pretty screaming deal in order to beat out a $20 heating element and a step bit.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fermentation Temperature Controller Sanity Check bacampbe Electric Brewing 6 01-24-2015 04:52 AM
Question about fuses for element controller Bugaboo Electric Brewing 17 12-07-2010 06:30 PM


Forum Jump