Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > 60amp Power-in Relay
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2010, 02:42 AM   #1
Sparky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Muir Beach, California
Posts: 291
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts

Default 60amp Power-in Relay

I have a question regarding finding a 60amp 240V, power-in relay to control my (designed system). Any suggestions??

- 60 amps, 240V power, single phase input
- This is the first relay, controlled by (basic) switch (1 NO Key Selector Switch 2 Position Maintained)
- I will be (down-line) controlling (2) 5500W elements (or more) and (2) pumps

I am trying to find a relay that will handle this methodology.
I can't find a 60 amp DPDT (or DPST), 240V, with 120V coil.
Not sure about wiring a definite purpose contactor.

Any help appreciated.


Sparky is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 05:13 AM   #2
jasonsbeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 417
Liked 24 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Maybe run two 30A contactors or power relays in parallel for each leg?

60A is a lot of juice.


__________________
There are a terrible lot of lies going around the world, and the worst of it is half of them are true.

Winston Churchill
jasonsbeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 06:20 AM   #3
Quaffer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 488
Liked 28 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Use two 30A contactors, one for each element. The key switch can feed other switches that control each contactor coil.
__________________
Alcohol, the source of - and solution to - all of life’s problems. H.J.S.
My keezer, My E-brewery build thread, How I soldered 1" nut for heater
Quaffer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 09:49 AM   #4
BrewBeemer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: island, in an atoll
Posts: 3,515
Liked 21 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Old lighting contactors or better yet a AC compressor relay will have the amperage capacity your looking for found on old equipment being demolished. This gets the price down to free. Only out of pocket would be a coil replacement, Honeywell AC units usually have 24 volt relay coils.
BrewBeemer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 04:23 PM   #5
Budzu
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 793
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts

Default

Here's a contactor rated 65amp, 3 pole (you can use the 3rd pole if you have a neutral line), with 120v coil.
Little pricey but things this size will be.
__________________
Countertop Brutus Budzu-style
Budzu is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 05:39 PM   #6
Sparky
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Muir Beach, California
Posts: 291
Liked 9 Times on 8 Posts

Default Power-in Relay

Thanks for all the input! I am basically building a more robust "Kal" electric brewing system and want to run both heating elements at the same time since I am doing back-to-back batches.

The 60amp relay would replace the 30amp power relay in this photo (power-in relay):
http://theelectricbrewery.com/contro...-part-2?page=7

I would still have (2) 30amp relays (with switches) controlling the heating elements.

I have a 200amp service with a 7.5kW (photovoltaic) solar system. Have not paid an electric bill in 5 years and have plenty reserve. Thus, the 60amp system is no problem.
Sparky is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 06:04 PM   #7
BrewBeemer
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: island, in an atoll
Posts: 3,515
Liked 21 Times on 21 Posts
Likes Given: 7

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Budzu View Post
Here's a contactor rated 65amp, 3 pole (you can use the 3rd pole if you have a neutral line), with 120v coil.
Little pricey but things this size will be.
I find it rather cheap considering what is out there.
BrewBeemer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:42 PM   #8
jasonsbeer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Central Iowa
Posts: 417
Liked 24 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

Just thinking about this... The first house I ever owned had 60 amp service. You're brewing system is going to use more power than my first house!
__________________
There are a terrible lot of lies going around the world, and the worst of it is half of them are true.

Winston Churchill
jasonsbeer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 06:24 PM   #9
MarkInOhio
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Avon Lake, Ohio
Posts: 24
Default

Here's the one I chose:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll...m=400053529772
MarkInOhio is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 02:33 AM   #10
SpaceCoastBrew
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 137
Liked 3 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Sparky, I'm doing a 60A setup as well and went with this relay:

http://www.surveillent.net/elkelk920...contactor.aspx

It's built identical to the others that Kal references. It comes in its own enclosure but is easy to remove. On a side note, if you haven't already you'll also want to put fuses on the feed to the 30A relays. Good luck.


SpaceCoastBrew is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How much power is available at the outlet? SenorWanderer Electric Brewing 9 02-08-2011 04:57 AM
How much power for 12-15 gallons? stockwes Electric Brewing 32 12-15-2010 06:52 AM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS