panel to spa panel wiring - Home Brew Forums
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > panel to spa panel wiring

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-25-2010, 02:46 PM   #1
buffalobrewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Buffalo, NY
Posts: 988
Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts



I picked up a spa panel from HD and am going to put it in the garage (attached) for indoor brewing. I have about a 15 foot run between floor joists, through a wall (insulated) then up to where I want to mount the panel. From what I have picked up: 6/4 wire from panel (50 amp breaker) to spa panel (50 amp gfci) and I need hard conduit in the garage portion (I don't think I can get it inside the wall with the insulation). Where I get confused is I don't think I can use romex type cable inside the conduit, but need it for the portion between the joists. so.... what type of wire/cable should I be using, run conduit the whole way? etc.

Also, are there any code requirements for the spa panel height and outlet heights in the garage?
Have a good Thanksgiving,
Mike
__________________
You start with a full bag of luck and a empty bag of experience, your goal is to fill the bag of experience before you empty your bag of luck

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 02:24 PM   #2
petey_c
Senior Member
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
petey_c's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2010
Miller Place, NY (Long Island)
Posts: 1,344
Liked 89 Times on 76 Posts


buffalobrewer, There are a couple of ways you can do this. Run romex (6/3 with ground, not 6/4. Since the ground wire doesn't normally carry current, it isn't considered a "wire". 6/4 is four current carrying conductors and a ground.) to a point where you can put a junction box (6X6X6 PVC) then run 1.25" PVC conduit to the location where you'll mount the spa panel. Use #6 THH/THWN (4 lengths, the distance from your junction box to the spa +10% (fudge factor)). Mark 1 green, 1 white and 1 red. You can run PVC the entire way. Sometimes more of a hassle. Same estimation for wire as above. Romex isn't allowed to be run in PVC unless the PVC is considered just a sleeve (no connectors at either end), but I have seen it done.
I like to mount the panels about 4' off the ground. I'd have to check the NEC to see what height, if any, is called for. You should also check with the local building dept. to what they recommend. In the spa panel you'll need to make sure the ground and neutral busses are electrically separated (if they're not already). There's sometimes a short wire/strip of metal that bonds the neutral to the panel itself. If so, that has to be removed. All the circuits to be put in the spa/sub panel have to have the neutrals and grounds put on their respective busses. I wish there were a shorter answer to your question.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 07:22 PM   #3
Quaffer
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Snohomish, WA
Posts: 418
Liked 29 Times on 15 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by buffalobrewer View Post
I picked up a spa panel from HD and am going to put it in the garage (attached) for indoor brewing. I have about a 15 foot run between floor joists, through a wall (insulated) then up to where I want to mount the panel. From what I have picked up: 6/4 wire from panel (50 amp breaker) to spa panel (50 amp gfci) and I need hard conduit in the garage portion (I don't think I can get it inside the wall with the insulation). Where I get confused is I don't think I can use romex type cable inside the conduit, but need it for the portion between the joists. so.... what type of wire/cable should I be using, run conduit the whole way? etc.
I have the same panel which I plan to mount in the garage close to the main panel. Why do you need conduit in the garage? Is it an electric code issue? My garage is unfinished and has a lot of Romex going in and out of the main panel, and no conduits except for the main feed from the roof. I plan to feed my sub panel with 10/3 w ground UF cable, connecting to a 30A 2P breaker in the main panel.
__________________
Alcohol, the source of - and solution to - all of life’s problems. H.J.S.
My keezer, My E-brewery build thread, How I soldered 1" nut for heater

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2010, 11:57 PM   #4
buffalobrewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Buffalo, NY
Posts: 988
Liked 18 Times on 16 Posts


Petey,
Thanks for the advice, just what I was looking for!

quaffer,
Mine would be exposed on a finished wall. From what I've read if the wiring is in a wall it doesn't need the conduit. The wires need to be protected.
__________________
You start with a full bag of luck and a empty bag of experience, your goal is to fill the bag of experience before you empty your bag of luck

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2010, 12:06 AM   #5
Quaffer
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Snohomish, WA
Posts: 418
Liked 29 Times on 15 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by buffalobrewer View Post
quaffer,
Mine would be exposed on a finished wall. From what I've read if the wiring is in a wall it doesn't need the conduit. The wires need to be protected.
Ah, I see. Thanks.
__________________
Alcohol, the source of - and solution to - all of life’s problems. H.J.S.
My keezer, My E-brewery build thread, How I soldered 1" nut for heater

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... ScubaSteve Electric Brewing 21 02-08-2011 07:42 PM
Need help mounting receptacles in control panel Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 20 01-16-2011 02:19 PM
Spa Panel $50 Scut_Monkey Electric Brewing 7 11-13-2010 10:48 PM
Possible hire out of Control Panel Build IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 5 11-06-2010 02:53 PM
need input on control panel SpaceCoastBrew Electric Brewing 13 10-28-2010 02:28 PM


Forum Jump