Using maple syrup or honey for priming

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

parrothead600

Reaction score
I'm new to making hard cider. I have a gallon of cider that I'm letting ferment naturally with no added yeast. When it is time to bottle it, I would like to use maple syrup or honey for priming.( Since I make my own maple syrup, I have an ample supply.)
Is this practical?
How much should I use for a 1 gallon batch?

It would be interesting to use maple syrup for priming. The issue is the amount to use. When bottling a 5 gallon batch, one would typically use about 5 oz corn sugar. This translates to about 3/4 cup (I believe). Scaling that down to a gallon would give you about 2.4 Tablespoons of sugar. When you use honey, or maple syrup, you actually would use a smaller amount than you would if you were using sugar. Typically about 25% less. So, with that in mind, for one gallon of cider, primed with either hiney or maple syrup, you would only need 1.8 Tablespoons.

I hoipe this helps.

I'm somewhat in the simillar situation. I have 2x 1 Gallon batches going right now however, I am using champagne yeast. I've been trying to figure out how I should prime the 1 Liter growler bottles I have. Any thoughs or suggestions?

Bombo80,
Thanks a bunch. I was trying to do this number crunching in a pretty large seminar haha! Thanks for helping out. Now, if only the cider would clear up...

reubadoob, since there are 3.78 liter to a gallon, calculating that out would give you about 1 1/2 teaspoons for a 1 liter growler. Not very much, so be careful.