Take a Look at my Breaker Panel... - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Take a Look at my Breaker Panel...

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-14-2010, 04:22 PM   #1
ScubaSteve
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,677
Liked 83 Times on 57 Posts



Here's some pics of my home's breaker panel. Looks like a 200A service panel with a 50A stove circuit and a 30A dryer circuit. I plan on using the dryer circuit in my laundry room, as it has a wash sink and my brewing room is also on that same floor...plus my rig is all rated for 30A anyway and I may not have a 50A service at my next house.

NOW...just to be sure....the panel DOES say GFCI on the bottom right, but it's only 20A (SWD????). Am I adequately protected with GFCI on the dryer outlet, or am I gonna need to buy a $$$ GFCI breaker for my rig's control panel?
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1040088.jpg
Views:	1475
Size:	30.5 KB
ID:	17917   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1040089.jpg
Views:	927
Size:	36.5 KB
ID:	17918   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1040090.jpg
Views:	952
Size:	37.1 KB
ID:	17919  

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 04:28 PM   #2
ScubaSteve
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,677
Liked 83 Times on 57 Posts


Just did some research...SWD means "switch duty"....the breaker is apparently able to switch more frequently without wear....as in, the GFCI gets frequently tripped and there is less chance of wearing the breaker out because of it? My concern is that it's only 20A....is it rated lower as a way to protect the wiring/homeowner; i.e. trip at a lower amperage so you don't get fried?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 04:55 PM   #3
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_ADMIN.png
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 26,073
Liked 6807 Times on 4023 Posts


I'm no electrician, but that doesn't look like a GFCI breaker to me. I'd think it would have a "trip window" or some other feature to indicate that function. You might pull the front panel off and look for a part number.

It's 20A for a reason, likely wire gauge. You're stuck with that. I don't understand what Panel GFCI is indicating... hopefully someone can shed some light on that.

You probably need to replace your dryer breaker with a 30A GFCI breaker.
__________________
- Andrew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 05:01 PM   #4
TheAleMaster
Recipes 
 
Jan 2009
Seattle, WA
Posts: 216
Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts


Doesn't a GFCI also have a "test" function on it? My 50A one does as well as all my GFCI outlets throughout my house.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 05:20 PM   #5
JonW
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
JonW's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2009
Huntington Beach ☼
Posts: 2,009
Liked 247 Times on 154 Posts


That breaker looks to me like it is feeding a GFCI outlet somewhere else. Do you have any other "panels" that the "Panel GFCI" name may refer to? ie. security panel, low voltage lighting panel, etc?

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 06:01 PM   #6
EFaden
Recipes 
 
Jan 2006
Rochester, New York
Posts: 545
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts


I would say that it is most likely feeding a GFCI somewhere. That breaker doesn't look like a GFCI.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 06:15 PM   #7
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_ADMIN.png
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 26,073
Liked 6807 Times on 4023 Posts


So you have a box outside somewhere (pool area)?
__________________
- Andrew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 10:48 PM   #8
ScubaSteve
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,677
Liked 83 Times on 57 Posts


Well...just got a 30A GFCI on Ebay for $52 shipped. Kicking myself now because I see 50A ones NEW for $50......oh well....I guess it's a good investment either way.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 10:56 PM   #9
passedpawn
Waste Allocation Load Lifter - Earth Class
HBT_ADMIN.png
 
passedpawn's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
☼ Clearwater, FL ☼
Posts: 26,073
Liked 6807 Times on 4023 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by ScubaSteve View Post
Well...just got a 30A GFCI on Ebay for $52 shipped. Kicking myself now because I see 50A ones NEW for $50......oh well....I guess it's a good investment either way.
Steve, you can't replace a 30A breaker with a 50A breaker. The breaker protects the wire, which in this case is only rated for 30A. (unless I'm missing something here)
__________________
- Andrew

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2010, 11:48 PM   #10
jllewel812
Recipes 
 
Mar 2009
Posts: 3

I have the same thing in my panel. It feeds a gfci outlet near (or right below in my case) the breaker box.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to build a control panel (part 1) kal Electric Brewing 521 06-21-2013 06:53 PM
Need help mounting receptacles in control panel Dgonza9 Electric Brewing 20 01-16-2011 02:19 PM
Spa Panel $50 Scut_Monkey Electric Brewing 7 11-13-2010 10:48 PM
Possible hire out of Control Panel Build IrregularPulse Electric Brewing 5 11-06-2010 02:53 PM
need input on control panel SpaceCoastBrew Electric Brewing 13 10-28-2010 02:28 PM


Forum Jump