Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Looking for a 2 pole Contactor, 30A, 120V Coil that is Din rail mountable
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-09-2010, 12:35 AM   #11
Budzu
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 793
Liked 17 Times on 16 Posts

Default

Here you go. $13.24 DIN mountable, 120v coil, 30a 2 pole. Its DPST but they also have double throw.


__________________
Countertop Brutus Budzu-style
Budzu is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 02:28 PM   #12
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

I have a bunch of 3-Phase DIN contactors - I'll look to see if any are rated for 30 Amps...


__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!
SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2010, 04:27 PM   #13
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2,072
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts

Default

I used an Auber contactor and two of these to mount it to the din rail:

http://www.mcmaster.com/#din-rail-mount-clips/=9n7yzr

Ed
Ohio-Ed is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 12:18 AM   #14
Windsors
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Ohio-Ed and Budzu - thanks for replies and suggestions.

I have been looking for the clips that Ohio-Ed suggested.

Thanks again.


SweetSounds, if those 3-Phase DIN contactors are rated for 30 Amps...and will work with 240 V single phase, I would be interested in buying 3 from you.

I haven't purchased anything yet.

Bill
Windsors is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 04:08 AM   #15
Quaffer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 488
Liked 28 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windsors View Post
I am ready to order some stuff from Automation Direct and was searching their site for a 2 pole, 30 A, 120 V Coil Contactor like Auberins has http://www.auberins.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=129 .

They are going to be used to shut off the 240 V power to 4500 Amp elements.

Can anyone help on this ?Bill
I am using two 5500W and one 3000W heater, and I picked an inexpensive 40A / 50A resistive load 3-pole contactor, like this 120V one for all three, except the ones I'm getting have 24V coils. The 30A/40Ar version is a little less.They just raised the price by $4.01 since I ordered mine five days ago, but it is still a good deal. The 40A contacts are going to last longer than the 30A ones. No DIN rail mounts though.

Edit: The 2-pole 30/40Ar 120V coil contactor is an even better deal. I need the 3-pole because I will also switch neutral to the element, and I want to leave the heater element "dry" when not in operation.
__________________
Alcohol, the source of - and solution to - all of life’s problems. H.J.S.
My keezer, My E-brewery build thread, How I soldered 1" nut for heater
Quaffer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 02:19 PM   #16
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,692
Liked 76 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaffer View Post
I am using two 5500W and one 3000W heater, and I picked an inexpensive 40A / 50A resistive load 3-pole contactor, like this 120V one for all three, except the ones I'm getting have 24V coils. The 30A/40Ar version is a little less.They just raised the price by $4.01 since I ordered mine five days ago, but it is still a good deal. The 40A contacts are going to last longer than the 30A ones. No DIN rail mounts though.

Edit: The 2-pole 30/40Ar 120V coil contactor is an even better deal. I need the 3-pole because I will also switch neutral to the element, and I want to leave the heater element "dry" when not in operation.
How/why are you switching neutral to the element? Isn't it 2 hots; I know they only have 2 terminals....or did you get a different kind of element?
ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 02:34 PM   #17
SweetSounds
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,429
Liked 19 Times on 18 Posts
Likes Given: 4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Quaffer View Post
Edit: The 2-pole 30/40Ar 120V coil contactor is an even better deal. I need the 3-pole because I will also switch neutral to the element, and I want to leave the heater element "dry" when not in operation.
Your elements don't require a neutral - Just 2 hots.

And you DO NOT want to switch the ground - That should be connected at all times!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ecnerwal View Post
What does the primary pressure gauge on the tank tell us? That's right, the temperature. Put it on a scale if you want to know how much is in it...
Put some duct tape over the gauge - Or better yet - Replace the high pressure gauge with a plug - High pressure gauges are useless!
SweetSounds is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 03:43 PM   #18
Windsors
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 97
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts

Default

Quaffer,

Those look good. I'll be ordering 3.

Thanks
Windsors is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 03:45 PM   #19
ScubaSteve
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: New Bern, NC
Posts: 3,692
Liked 76 Times on 53 Posts
Likes Given: 11

Default

Definitely not suggesting that ground be switched I guess I'm wondering if switching neutral is a personal choice or required by the specific elements he has. And if it's a personal choice, why is it necessary? The electric potential (voltage) is eliminated if you are breaking the 2 hots.
ScubaSteve is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 04:37 PM   #20
Quaffer
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Snohomish, WA
Posts: 488
Liked 28 Times on 15 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Guys, sorry about the confusion I caused. Here's the plan: I will have an SPDT relay switching live (L2) or Neutral to one side of the heater element. I will have an SSR that switches L1 to the other side of the element. All this on the load side of the 3-pole contactor, with Neutral on one of the poles. Yes, I could have put the relay on the other side of the contactor and used a 2-pole, but I chose to put it on the load side. That is why I want a 3-pole contactor. The truth is that I didn't think of the alternate placement of the relay at first. Then when I did I still preferred the 3-pole, especially since I had just found this 40A/50A resistive 3P contactor for only $16.16. It has a sort of neat symmetry to it with the SSR and relay on the same side.

I will be posting a schematic soon and it will all become clear as mud. Thank you all for trying to save me from a dumb mistake. There have been plenty of times when that would indeed have been the case.


__________________
Alcohol, the source of - and solution to - all of life’s problems. H.J.S.
My keezer, My E-brewery build thread, How I soldered 1" nut for heater
Quaffer is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any 120V Setups for 10 Gal Batch? JJWP Electric Brewing 30 05-30-2011 11:17 PM
120v Switches CoalCracker Electric Brewing 7 10-15-2010 08:53 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS