Looking for a 2 pole Contactor, 30A, 120V Coil that is Din rail mountable - Home Brew Forums
Register Now For Free!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Looking for a 2 pole Contactor, 30A, 120V Coil that is Din rail mountable

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-04-2010, 01:16 PM   #1
Windsors
Recipes 
 
May 2008
Posts: 102
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts



I am ready to order some stuff from Automation Direct and was searching their site for a 2 pole, 30 A, 120 V Coil Contactor like Auberins has http://www.auberins.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=129 .

Nothing came up. Maybe I am reading the spec's wrong, but all I found were 3 pole and 4 pole.

Everything else I have is Din rail mountable, so I want these to be the same. They are going to be used to shut off the 240 V power to 4500 Amp elements.

Can anyone help on this ?

Thanks

Bill

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 05:38 PM   #2
CodeRage
Death by Magumba!
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
CodeRage's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Aug 2007
Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 2,222
Liked 49 Times on 21 Posts


Bill,
It's going to be tough to find something that large that is din rail mountable.

The 3/4 pole deals you found at automation direct are intended for things like poly phase motor starters. The good news is you can still use them for your purpose, you will just have some contacts that aren't used.
__________________
Brutus 20e build | Electrical Primer for Brewers | Auber SYL-2362A2 PID Install & Config
So as I am walking out the door this morning I think to my self:
"self, going to work on Monday is like knowing you're going to get kicked in the nuts. You just don't know when or by who"

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 05:41 PM   #3
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


you might be able to find a bracket that you can screw a regular contactor onto to allow it to fit on a DIN rail.

I think I saw some things like that when I was building my system earlier this year.

edit: here's an example... it's awfully expensive, but proof that such things exist: http://www.industrialnetworking.com/Manufacturers/Digi-Accessories/76000682-DIN-Rail-Bracket

edit 2: actually, that may not be what I thought it was. I think that is a backet to HOLD a piece of DIN rail and not a bracket that will allow you to mount someting ONTO a DIN rail.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 05:46 PM   #4
EFaden
Recipes 
 
Jan 2006
Rochester, New York
Posts: 545
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts


Here is a 3 pole - http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/...ors/CE15FNS3AB

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 05:47 PM   #5
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


maybe this?
http://www.google.com/products/catal...CAcQ8wIwADgA#p

Looks like it's just a piece of metal or plastic that slides onto the rail. You could potentially screw the auber contactor onto it.
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 05:48 PM   #6
Walker
I use secondaries. :p
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Walker's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Sep 2005
Cary, NC
Posts: 10,987
Liked 101 Times on 89 Posts


great god almighty... $157?
__________________
Ground Fault Brewing Co.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 09:50 PM   #7
Windsors
Recipes 
 
May 2008
Posts: 102
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


Looking at this one...http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/.../SC-E05-110VAC

Amp wise, should work for my 4500 Watt elements easily. Pushing it if I went to 5500 Watts.

To the experts, would this work for me ? Like CodeRage said, I would just have one extra set of poles ?

Thanks

Bill

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 10:12 PM   #8
EFaden
Recipes 
 
Jan 2006
Rochester, New York
Posts: 545
Liked 13 Times on 12 Posts


Seems like it would work, I was just looking for the 30A. If all you need is 25A I would say it would work. Plus its a LOT cheaper.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windsors View Post
Looking at this one...http://www.automationdirect.com/adc/Shopping/Catalog/Motor_Controls/Fuji_Contactors_-z-_Overloads/9_to_25_Amp/SC-E05-110VAC

Amp wise, should work for my 4500 Watt elements easily. Pushing it if I went to 5500 Watts.

To the experts, would this work for me ? Like CodeRage said, I would just have one extra set of poles ?

Thanks

Bill

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2010, 11:09 PM   #9
Windsors
Recipes 
 
May 2008
Posts: 102
Liked 2 Times on 2 Posts


EFaden, thanks for the input.

Yea huge difference b/n the 25 and 30 amp one. Must be something else different as well, but I don't know enough about them to figure it out.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2010, 04:01 AM   #10
ScubaSteve
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
 
ScubaSteve's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2007
, DC
Posts: 3,680
Liked 84 Times on 58 Posts


JB Weld.

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any 120V Setups for 10 Gal Batch? JJWP Electric Brewing 30 05-30-2011 11:17 PM
120v Switches CoalCracker Electric Brewing 7 10-15-2010 08:53 PM


Forum Jump