How do you bypass a 2 position selector switch for automated brewing?` - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > How do you bypass a 2 position selector switch for automated brewing?`

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-29-2010, 04:05 PM   #1
EuBrew
 
EuBrew's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
Columbus, OH, Ohio
Posts: 610
Liked 31 Times on 24 Posts



In my original panel design I was planning on using a 2 position selector switch to select EITHER my 5500 watt BK element, OR my 5500 watt HLT element ala Ohio-Ed and Kal's panels.

This makes sense in Manual control because it keeps both elements from being fired at the same time and overloading my electrical supply causing the breaker to trip (50A GFCI) because of overcurrent.

It seems to me that if I have the BK selected and I'm running an automated brew session with Brewtroller then the HLT will not be able to be fired unless I turn the switch each time it needs to be in use, thus limiting the functionality of the automated process. What is my work around for this?
__________________
Primary 1: empty
Primary 2: empty
Primary 3: empty
Secondary 1: empty
Secondary 2: empty
Secondary 3: empty

Kegged: Nada
Bottled Nada

Planned: Sierra Nevada Celebration clone
CBC Bodhi IPA



I may be naive but I make up for that with inexperience!!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 04:18 PM   #2
JayInJersey
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
JayInJersey's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2009
New Jersey
Posts: 594
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Maybe a switch in front of that one that is either BTroll/Manual where manual lets the BK/HLT one work and BTroll bypasses the switch and lets the BTroll decide?

Just brainstorming don't quote me on any of that

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 04:30 PM   #3
EuBrew
 
EuBrew's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
Columbus, OH, Ohio
Posts: 610
Liked 31 Times on 24 Posts


Possibly....... I need to take a closer look at Ohio-Ed's since he's using BCS for automated I'm sure he had the same issue.

Back to the research!
__________________
Primary 1: empty
Primary 2: empty
Primary 3: empty
Secondary 1: empty
Secondary 2: empty
Secondary 3: empty

Kegged: Nada
Bottled Nada

Planned: Sierra Nevada Celebration clone
CBC Bodhi IPA



I may be naive but I make up for that with inexperience!!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 04:51 PM   #4
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Posts: 2,067
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by EuBrew View Post
Possibly....... I need to take a closer look at Ohio-Ed's since he's using BCS for automated I'm sure he had the same issue.

Back to the research!
In my drawing, manual intervention is required to switch HLT / BK, regardless of auto or manual mode.

The BCS doesn't give a hoot about your capacity, so it is possible to program the BCS to fire both at the same time. There is no provision in the BCS to "Lock Out" an output based on your overall electrical capacity. I asked about a feature like that on the BCS forum, but the idea didn't get much traction.

So, for now, I have to switch the selector by hand. My process is not lights out automated anyway. The BCS processes take me to a point requiring manual intervention, sounds an alarm, and holds until told to goto the next step / process.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 05:05 PM   #5
EuBrew
 
EuBrew's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
Columbus, OH, Ohio
Posts: 610
Liked 31 Times on 24 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohio-Ed View Post
In my drawing, manual intervention is required to switch HLT / BK, regardless of auto or manual mode.

The BCS doesn't give a hoot about your capacity, so it is possible to program the BCS to fire both at the same time. There is no provision in the BCS to "Lock Out" an output based on your overall electrical capacity. I asked about a feature like that on the BCS forum, but the idea didn't get much traction.

So, for now, I have to switch the selector by hand. My process is not lights out automated anyway. The BCS processes take me to a point requiring manual intervention, sounds an alarm, and holds until told to goto the next step / process.
Yeah, I was just looking through your thread again and didn't see anywhere that would cover this, meaning being able to bypass the selector switches. I'm thinking outloud here, but if I have both elements in Auto mode then when I program BT I would program it to where the elements wouldn't be on at the same time anyway. This leaves me with the selector switch to deal with in manual. Need to figure out how I can use the selector in manual, then bypass it in auto........ hmmmmmmmmmm gotta think some more on this. I wonder about making it a DPDT switch where one pole would be manual, the other would be Auto.................

I posted this in the BT forum too so HOPEFULLY I'll get some sort of feedback there.

Thanks Ed!
__________________
Primary 1: empty
Primary 2: empty
Primary 3: empty
Secondary 1: empty
Secondary 2: empty
Secondary 3: empty

Kegged: Nada
Bottled Nada

Planned: Sierra Nevada Celebration clone
CBC Bodhi IPA



I may be naive but I make up for that with inexperience!!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 06:05 PM   #6
evanmars
EAC Wannabe
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
evanmars's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2006
Springport, Michigan
Posts: 922
Liked 58 Times on 38 Posts


Use a relay to bypass the switch in Auto.
__________________
Consistency is only a virtue if you're not a screwup

Primary - Duck Lake EPA
Duck Pee (Cream of Three Crops variant)

Secondary - 0
Kegged - 0 No kegs anymore :(
Bottled - 0

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 06:43 PM   #7
Ohio-Ed
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
Ohio-Ed's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Nov 2008
Posts: 2,067
Liked 20 Times on 19 Posts


Quote:
Originally Posted by evanmars View Post
Use a relay to bypass the switch in Auto.
I think its a bit more complex than that...

If you want the BT to be able to control both elements and you are counting on it NOT firing both at the same time, then you need to also "lock out" BOTH Manual positons on the individual Element selectors so you don't Manually fire one while the BT is controlling the other.

So... I think you need to bypass all three switches if you want to depend on the BT to limit which is on.

Ed

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 06:56 PM   #8
GilaMinumBeer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
GilaMinumBeer's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jan 2008
Posts: 58,452
Liked 7450 Times on 6106 Posts


I vote a hammer.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 06:59 PM   #9
EuBrew
 
EuBrew's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Apr 2009
Columbus, OH, Ohio
Posts: 610
Liked 31 Times on 24 Posts


yeah....... this one is way beyond my skill set.........

Have to finish my drawing with just the selector switch first then maybe I can see a workaround.
__________________
Primary 1: empty
Primary 2: empty
Primary 3: empty
Secondary 1: empty
Secondary 2: empty
Secondary 3: empty

Kegged: Nada
Bottled Nada

Planned: Sierra Nevada Celebration clone
CBC Bodhi IPA



I may be naive but I make up for that with inexperience!!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2010, 07:10 PM   #10
JayInJersey
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
JayInJersey's Avatar
Recipes 
 
May 2009
New Jersey
Posts: 594
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Still brainstorming...


If you used a 3-POS selector with 1 set of NC blocks and one set of NO blocks on them couldn't you wire it BK-Auto-HLT

Wired so the only way the BTroll gets control is on the Auto position...


This appears to work in my head and on my scribble (no you can't see this one either...) but not sure in practice.


But you have to be sure you program your BTroll so it never fires both at once...cause it could. But that would be a programming/software error not a hardware error
__________________
Hazard Brewing

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Selector switch that automatically turns off when power's cut? kal Electric Brewing 44 11-25-2010 01:23 AM
Automated immersion test bzomerlei Electric Brewing 6 11-01-2010 01:16 PM
Need help wiring 3 Position selector switch for Brewtroller EuBrew Electric Brewing 5 10-29-2010 04:39 PM


Forum Jump