Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > General Beer Discussion > drink outside the box

Old 01-21-2007, 12:05 AM   #1
mcody2005
Feedback Score: 0 reviews

Recipes 

Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default drink outside the box

In order to expand my beer pallete i have been buying many different 6 packs of different brands and styles. Im new to homebrewing so i figured this type of research would be an important step tword what i was doing. I have been drinking lagger beers for many years and decided that if i was going to be homebrewing, it was time to "drink outside the box". I tried everything from ipa"s to stouts and lots of other things in between. all drinkable and all worthy of the charectoristics that make them unique... untill i tried Bass Pale Ale. Dont hate me for thinking with my tastebuds, but this stuff is awfull! coud I have gotten a bad batch, or did they name this stuff after the actual fish? was it fish i tasted, or wet dog... maybee old dish water. cant put my finger on it. Anyway all joking aside, is it supposed to laste like that? If it is, and your a fan of this beer, please send me all the hate mail you want because im officially calling you crazy.

Old 01-21-2007, 03:10 AM   #2
desiderata

Recipes 

Liked 3 Times on 3 Posts
Likes Given: 10

Could have been a bad batch. First time I tried Bass (at least that I remember), it was at a restaurant, and it was very good tasting. Later, I bought a six pack and got home and it tasted like you described (all the above), and I ended up throwing them out!...which begs the question...oh, I'll start a new thread for that.

Old 01-21-2007, 03:38 AM   #3
RichBrewer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 132 Times on 67 Posts
Likes Given: 106