Therm lenght? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Electric Brewing > Therm lenght?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-2010, 03:47 PM   #1
bad coffee
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
bad coffee's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2008
NYC
Posts: 5,117
Liked 480 Times on 469 Posts



I'm looking at buying my BCS 462 this week, and was wondering about probe length.

On the rig there will be

Mash Temp
Boil Temp
CFC in
CFC out.

The Boil temp will be through a bulkhead on the side of the boil kettle. should I go with a 2" or 4"?

I'm thinking about building my own with this thermowell from ebay and a thermistor.
http://cgi.ebay.com/THERMOWELL-316ss...item518a47109c

Or just a piece of stainless tube welded shut with one of these:
http://cgi.ebay.com/Compression-Redu...item3f038d797e

Depending on what cables I end up getting, I will probably get adhesive lined heat shrink for strain relief, and just go over the tube and the cable.

Any thoughts or suggestions? Have you found stainless thermowells for cheaper?

Cheers,
B
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GilaMinumBeer
Why do you think they choose that path? (.)(.) = $$$$$$$$$
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuljin View Post
Wtf was chasing you for an hour? Buy a gun already.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZ_IPA View Post
I'm a meat hunter. PKU.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 04:24 PM   #2
Bowtiebrewery
Recipes 
 
May 2009
Seymour, CT
Posts: 1,068
Liked 102 Times on 85 Posts


Auber Instruments:

Depending on what type you want to run from your controller or PID... you will either need thermocouple K type:
http://www.auberins.com/index.php?ma...=index&cPath=3

or RTD type
http://www.auberins.com/index.php?ma...index&cPath=15

And in either case you can run 2" and it will be fine... I run 2" rtd probes with my PID's.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 05:00 PM   #3
bad coffee
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
bad coffee's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2008
NYC
Posts: 5,117
Liked 480 Times on 469 Posts


I have 1/2" SS bulkheads, so I'm kinda stuck needing a 1/2" NPT thermowell. The only one I found on Auberin's was $26. I'm sure I can build one for much cheaper than that.

I'm ordering thermistors to build thermowells for my keezer, fermenatrix, and MLT, so another one for the boil kettle won't add any shipping. I just need to find the thermowell that will work.

Looks like a two pack of these might be the way to go.
http://cgi.ebay.com/SS-316-Thermowel...item19b6805152

Chiller coil/fittings aren't designed yet. I'm trying to fit the chiller and pump in a bucket, ala JKarp's setup. I want QD's on both beer and chiller lines, and I'm not sure where I want the temp probes.

CFC in is going to be within a degree or so of the BK out, so I don't know whether the probe is going in the CFC chill water in, or somewhere else. Is there any use monitoring the CFC water? Will it be something that becomes a 'that's nice. but why does it need to be tracked?"

B
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by GilaMinumBeer
Why do you think they choose that path? (.)(.) = $$$$$$$$$
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zuljin View Post
Wtf was chasing you for an hour? Buy a gun already.
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZ_IPA View Post
I'm a meat hunter. PKU.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 05:19 PM   #4
Bowtiebrewery
Recipes 
 
May 2009
Seymour, CT
Posts: 1,068
Liked 102 Times on 85 Posts


No worries there you can get stainlessbushings from McMaster Carr that reduce from 1/2" to 1/4" for only $3 a piece!

http://www.mcmaster.com/#stainless-s...d-pipe/=9adpcx


As far as your concern for monitoring the temp in of the water... not really necessary... BUT... i originally had my temp probe installed on my HERMS coil out side to see what temp my wort was coming out at... but had determined that it was best to keep it monitoring the kettle (In my case the Mash Tun)

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 09:54 PM   #5
flananuts
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
flananuts's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 506
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Better yet, you can have the whole thing made for you. I'll have to pull up the vendor I found on eBay, but they made me a 1/2" NPT SS integrated RTD sensor/thermowell with inch probe, gave me exactly the length of cord needed. They also did a 1/8" NPT k type thermocouple for me to run through a sight glass fitting.

I'll dig up the eBay vendor and PM you. If you decide to go the thermowell route like you put in picture, I have one I'll give you.

BTW- My grain buy with you last winter is awesome!

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 10:02 PM   #6
flananuts
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png
 
flananuts's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Dec 2008
Monmouth County, NJ
Posts: 506
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts


Here it is. I emailed the guy what I wanted and they made it for me

http://stores.ebay.com/Procon-Products

 
Reply With Quote
Reply
Thread Tools



Forum Jump