Is Cider naturally gluten free? - Home Brew Forums

Register Now!
Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > Is Cider naturally gluten free?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-15-2010, 02:24 PM   #1
ncowling
Recipes 
 
Jun 2010
Maryland
Posts: 15


originally posted under Gluten Free thread, but thought this might be an appropriate spot--

I am brewing my first hard cider for the holidays. I have a friend with celiac disease, and would love her to be able to enjoy this.

For this recipe, I only used Zeigler's Apple Cider (confirmed with a company spokesperson, the only ingredient is apples, no potassium sorbate) and WL Cider Yeast. No additional sugars during fermentation. I plan on using priming sugar during bottling for carbonation.

Thanks for the feedback.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 02:27 PM   #2
danielinva
Recipes 
 
Jun 2008
Henrico, VA
Posts: 259

I'm not entirely sure about the rest, but you may want to look into priming your bottles with additional juice rather than sugar, otherwise you may lose your gluten free status.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 07:40 PM   #3
The_Kelly
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 20

Sugar is sugar they do not utilize Gluten with sugar unless it has some weird additives on te box. You're good. BUT most of the yeast's that you buy are started in a wheat solution. The one company that has Gluten free yeast and actually states it on the packaging is the Wyeast brand. Not all of them are Gluten free but some are. And they state it on the package. I did some research a while back. There are other companies as well, but I can't find my list. I have Celiac disease also. It's fun....

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 11:32 PM   #4
patriqq
Recipes 
 
Jun 2010
PA
Posts: 60


Yes, cider is GF unless you add something with gluten. Nottingham yeast is GF according to the package.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 12:30 AM   #5
iaefebs
Registered User
Recipes 
 
Aug 2010
West Coast, MI
Posts: 2,674
Liked 245 Times on 177 Posts


I think gluten intolerance is for the grass grains. Wheat, rye, barley. I don't think an apple juice qualifies. You should be safe.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 01:34 PM   #6
david_42
 
david_42's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Oct 2005
Willamina & Oak Grove, Oregon, USA
Posts: 25,593
Liked 151 Times on 142 Posts


White Labs yeasts are not GF, apples are. You can write to WL and ask if the cider/wines yeasts are an exception, but I don't see anything on their site to that effect.

 
Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 01:46 PM   #7
Edcculus
 
Edcculus's Avatar
Recipes 
 
Jun 2007
Greenville, SC
Posts: 4,546
Liked 48 Times on 45 Posts


I thought Wyeast 1272 (American Ale II) was gluten free, but I don't see it in the description anymore.

 
Reply With Quote


Reply
Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cider-Yeast Starter Question - How much cider/volume? brewinginct Cider Forum 11 10-25-2013 05:25 AM
Gluten-free Graff? michaelbelt Cider Forum 6 03-04-2011 05:30 PM
New cider brew - store bought cider, juice kegtoe Cider Forum 5 08-16-2010 09:19 PM
Naturally fermented cider g_rath Cider Forum 9 09-03-2008 01:30 PM
Anyone naturally ferment? ALPS Cider Forum 15 05-20-2006 11:10 PM


Forum Jump