Coldbreak Brewing Giveaway - Open to All!

Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Community > General Chit Chat > How to get into Scotch?

Old 09-27-2010, 06:46 PM   #1
ghart999
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 7 Times on 6 Posts

Default How to get into Scotch?

Newbie Scotch drinker here. I know nothing about it other than the distillation process, etc. I have tried a few and am slightly beginning to gain an appreciation for it. However, I don't know what I like and what I don't.

For a pure beginner here, recommend a decent single malt that's not too harsh, of decent quality and reasonable price. By price, I would say no more than $30/bottle.

Also how should I drink, with water, ice? Again I know nothing. I have some brandy sniffers, wine glasses and Belgian beer flutes. Of those, what is preferred or do I need to go buy a nice Scotch glass? Thanks all.

Gregg

Old 09-27-2010, 06:49 PM   #2
GilaMinumBeer
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 5786 Times on 5044 Posts
Likes Given: 80

For anything, you pretty much just go to the store and buy whatever you haven't tried or what catches your eye in your price point. Lots of stores have a sample section too. So, take advantage of that when you can. and try it everyway until you find what you like. Neat, watered, iced, with soda, whatever.

I have tried just about every sctoch sample my stores carry and guess what I found out?

I hate Scotch.

Old 09-27-2010, 06:53 PM   #3
dataz722
HBT_SUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 3027 Times on 2976 Posts
Likes Given: 28

I would suggest that you start out with some blended scotches and with a little ice and/or water. The ice and water will help detract away from some of the harshness of the alcohol and let you notice flavors you normally probably wouldn't have. Over time you may want to reduce the water or ice.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Randar View Post
I was wrong

Old 09-27-2010, 06:53 PM   #4
motobrewer
I'm no atheist scientist, but...
HBT_SUPPORTER.png