Home Brew Forums > Wine, Mead, Cider, Sake & Soda > Cider Forum > First attempt = Problems
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-08-2010, 07:40 PM   #1
NickN72
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 111
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default First attempt = Problems

So I decided to make a batch of Brandon O's Graff. Followed his recipe, pitched some rehydrated nottingham, and put it away to ferment. Then I started reading about some of the problems people have been having with Nottingham. I got worried so i started checking it once a day, and 72 hours later i still had nothing. I was going to repitch with some S-04 or S-05, but when i opened the lid this time, this is what i found.





Is there any saving this or is it a dumper? can i rack from below it and repitch?

I've made 6 or 7 batches of beer and never had an infection so this is new territory for me



NickN72 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 09:03 PM   #2
GroosBrewz
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: West Richland, WA, WA
Posts: 836
Liked 7 Times on 7 Posts
Likes Given: 9

Default

That is definitely a dumper. Obviously the fermentation never started and when you leave sugars sitting around for that long with no yeast activity (ie, alcohol) this can easily happen. Did you have old yeast? Pitch it too hot? What was the OG?


__________________
Tap 1- JubelAle Clone
Tap 2- Evening Bite Pale Ale
Tap 3- Twilight Clone
Tap 4- Dicks Danger Ale Clone

"Today I felt like burning some calories....So I found a fat kid and set him on fire"
GroosBrewz is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 09:42 PM   #3
NickN72
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 111
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

OG was 1.058, everything was good and cool when i pitched. I really don't know how old the yeast was, i should have checked it but i didn't. I didn't pay attention at the lhbs when i told the guy i needed some nottingham, and when i got home i found he had given me windsor, so i had to run to a close shop and pick some up and didn't pay attention to the date. I've heard that you can rack from underneath it sometimes and still save it, but I didn't know if that was possible here or not.
NickN72 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2010, 11:54 PM   #5
oldmate
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 869
Liked 16 Times on 14 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Default

Ewwwwww.. by the looks of it it's floating all through it, don't know if you'd be able to rack that out
oldmate is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 01:50 AM   #6
NickN72
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 111
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by oldmate View Post
Ewwwwww.. by the looks of it it's floating all through it, don't know if you'd be able to rack that out
I see how it looks that way in the picture, but i think its all just floating on top....
NickN72 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 01:59 AM   #7
CvilleKevin
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,300
Liked 129 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

in that case rack from underneath and pitch the US05. IMHO US05 works better for malt ciders
CvilleKevin is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 02:02 AM   #8
NickN72
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cedar Falls, IA
Posts: 111
Liked 1 Times on 1 Posts

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CvilleKevin View Post
in that case rack from underneath and pitch the US05. IMHO US05 works better for malt ciders
do i need to do anything to it after i rack it and before i pitch the new yeast in order to keep it from doing this again?
NickN72 is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 03:09 AM   #9
CvilleKevin
HBT_SUPPORTER.png
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Posts: 1,300
Liked 129 Times on 58 Posts
Likes Given: 3

Default

Ideally you could put it in a carboy with a lot less headspace and blow some CO2 on the top so that you arent getting random organisms from all that air.

Make sure that the surroundings are clean. Mold in the cider is usually an indicator that there is mold nearby
CvilleKevin is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 03:19 AM   #10
lumpher
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: texas
Posts: 4,542
Liked 133 Times on 118 Posts
Likes Given: 17

Default

that's some pretty nasty stuff


__________________
Taps:
1: APA 2: Notso Mild 3: Hefe 4: Belgian Dark Strong
5: Barkshack Mead 6: Cabernet Wine
Fermenting: APA
lumpher is offline
 
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First Attempt at Cider MountainMan Cider Forum 4 12-15-2009 05:08 AM
First attempt without a kit SFBEER Cider Forum 1 10-23-2009 01:17 PM
Help please, on my first attempt!!!! CalamityAl Cider Forum 18 08-18-2009 11:12 AM
My first attempt at Cider BigJoe5313 Cider Forum 3 07-15-2009 10:17 PM
First Hard Cider Attempt - Problems? alowishus Cider Forum 8 12-16-2007 09:43 PM


Forum Jump

Newest Threads

LATEST SPONSOR DEALS