Home Brew Forums > Home Brewing Beer > Hops Growing > Can I grow hops in Tucson AZ?

Old 09-06-2010, 06:42 AM   #1
HH60gunner
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Recipes 

Liked 10 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 2

Default Can I grow hops in Tucson AZ?

Like the title says I'm curious if I would be able to grow hops in Tucson Arizona. Also if I can which would be the best for this environment. Also how long does it take from seed to vine to start being able to harvest? I'm still a noob to brewing, and am an even bigger noob to gardening. Except for my little jalepeno plant that is pretty easily maintained.

Old 09-06-2010, 07:22 PM   #2
evanos
Recipes 

Likes Given: 4

I just bought 4 hop plants from High Hops in August, put 'em in, and now that they're a little established they're taking off. Some of the younger leaves are burned, but I think as long as you keep them on the North side of your house/residence, they should be fine. I have mine on the north side of my fraternity by the U of A.

Old 09-07-2010, 01:41 AM   #3
HH60gunner
Recipes 

Quote:
Originally Posted by evanos View Post
I just bought 4 hop plants from High Hops in August, put 'em in, and now that they're a little established they're taking off. Some of the younger leaves are burned, but I think as long as you keep them on the North side of your house/residence, they should be fine. I have mine on the north side of my fraternity by the U of A.
Thanks man I appreciate it.

Old 02-19-2012, 05:03 AM   #4
wolfareno
HBT_LIFETIMESUPPORTER.png

Recipes 

Liked 4 Times on 4 Posts
Likes Given: 1

Resurrecting this thread.

How are your guys' hops doing? I'm thinking about planting some at my place in Tucson, but I'm not sure if they would be best in the back yard (west facing, full sun from noon-sunset) or along the north side where they would get much less sun. I understand they like "full sun" but that may not be the case in Tucson

Do you water daily in the summer?

Thanks for any help!

-J